Has Flowcode simplification made things harder

For general Flowcode discussion that does not belong in the other sections.
RGV250
http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl

Has Flowcode simplification made things harder

Post by RGV250 »

Hi,
I wonder if making Flowcodes supposedly simpler approach actually made some things harder.
I am no expert on Modbus but if I use Simply Modbus Master I can put a string in and get the expected response. In Flowcode I have absolutely no idea what gives and how to see what it is actually sending and what it is receiving.
I have a Modbus temp / humidity module similar to this https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/254779819352 ... qrEALw_wcB
In Simply Modbus Master I send a string 01 04 00 01 00 01 20 0B and get a response 01 04 02 01 31 79 74 which is as expected.
In Flowcode I have no idea, the device is responding as far as I am aware but no idea what it is sending.
Is there a way of sending the response buffer and for that matter the sent string to a serial port so I can see what is happening. I did find that if the exact string the device was expecting is not sent it would not respond.

Regards,
Bob

medelec35
Matrix Staff

Re: Has Flowcode simplification made things harder

Post by medelec35 »

Hi Bob.
To make things easier you can request a component is created for your hardware.
Alternatively, if this is something you would like to sort out yourself, have you seen this wiki page?
Martin

RGV250

Post by RGV250 »

Hi Martin,
I have found an issue with my project so I do not think the device is responding at all.
I think my next step is to dig out a USB/TTL cable to see if my circuit works with that, I know the device works with a USB/RS485 converter but it requires a MAX485 between it and the ESP32 which might be a problem.
I did see that article but as the power monitor (for App developer) was for the ESP32 that seemed to be the best option.