Page 1 of 1
STM32F030RC - UART4 and UART5 problem
Posted: Sat May 17, 2025 1:40 pm
by Top_Controls
Hello,
I'm a F9 user. I just start the project based on STM32F030RC and got some problems with using UART4 and UART5. Uarts 1, 2 and 3 are ok (succesfully tested), but I can't compile to HEX (no problem with compiling to C) when I use UART4 or UART5. I can't use them. Could you help me to activate this ports and run both UARTS? There is a configuration of both ports in attached file.
Best regards
Re: STM32F030RC - UART4 and UART5 problem
Posted: Mon May 19, 2025 6:33 pm
by LeighM
Could you try an edit to the STM32F030RC FCD file
32F030RC.fcdx in C:\ProgramData\MatrixTSL\FlowcodeV9\FCD\ARM
Search for name='UART4' and change it to name='USART4'
Similarly name='UART5' and change it to name='USART5'
Then restart Flowcode or re-load the project
Re: STM32F030RC - UART4 and UART5 problem
Posted: Tue May 20, 2025 8:31 am
by Top_Controls
Hello,
Thanks so much for suggestion. I will make it of course. Anyway I run Uart4 and Uart5 by change it to "Software" and choose correct pins. It works, but interrupts still not. I will put a short program with my results soon. Thanks again.
Re: STM32F030RC - UART4 and UART5 problem
Posted: Tue May 20, 2025 4:14 pm
by LeighM
Thanks. Yes, if you confirm that it fixes the issue then Matrix team can update their versions.
Re: STM32F030RC - UART4 and UART5 problem
Posted: Wed May 21, 2025 11:36 am
by Top_Controls
Hi LeighM,
I make changes in 32F030RC.fcdx. (UART4 to USART4 and UART5 to USART5) It fix compilatin problem. It's possible now to add correct UART and pins of the controller. No problem with compilation to HEX. There is still a problem with enabling the UART4 and UART5. I wrote a simple program to check it. When I send "1" or "0", LED is turned on or off and one byte of data is sending back. It works well on UART1,2 and 3. On 4 or 5 it look like not enabled interrupt. Here is a simple program with UART1 (works well) and UART4 and 5 (no reaction). Previously I check the transmission via this ports - transmission without problems. There is the same construction of commands in 32F030RC.fcdx for UART3,4,5 and 6: USART3_6_IRQn. I'm not sure how to use it correctly. Help please at free time. I can check any configuration.
Best regards
Re: STM32F030RC - UART4 and UART5 problem
Posted: Wed May 21, 2025 1:29 pm
by LeighM
Ok. Thanks for the feedback.
I should be able to get back to my PC sometime in the next day or two and have a look at the interrupts, it's a shared one on this device, so a little more complex
Re: STM32F030RC - UART4 and UART5 problem
Posted: Wed May 21, 2025 1:49 pm
by Top_Controls
I understand of course, it will take some time. Anyway, I want to thank you for help. I will wait for some results. I also can prepare some PCB with STM32F030RC and send for tests.