SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
Moderator: Benj
-
- Posts: 139
- Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
- Has thanked: 20 times
- Been thanked: 25 times
SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
Hi guys,
Flowcode 8.2.2 (latest version). We are using an SSD1322 in parallel mode (Interface Type: 8080) with a PIC32MZ. When I try to initialize the display, it just shows rubbish on the screen
We are sure the PIC32MZ is running at correct speed and not crashing as we have a second LCD display SSD1306 in Buffer mode (serial) alongside working perfectly well.
Where can we start troubleshooting this problem? Would be possible at all to get the FC8 source of the SSD1322 to make sure the timings are correct? The module we are using is from Buydisplay.com, same source we got the SSD1306 which is workng very well.
Many thanks in advance for your help!
Flowcode 8.2.2 (latest version). We are using an SSD1322 in parallel mode (Interface Type: 8080) with a PIC32MZ. When I try to initialize the display, it just shows rubbish on the screen
We are sure the PIC32MZ is running at correct speed and not crashing as we have a second LCD display SSD1306 in Buffer mode (serial) alongside working perfectly well.
Where can we start troubleshooting this problem? Would be possible at all to get the FC8 source of the SSD1322 to make sure the timings are correct? The module we are using is from Buydisplay.com, same source we got the SSD1306 which is workng very well.
Many thanks in advance for your help!
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
Hello,
Here's the component source, please let me know if you find anything. It looks like maybe the initialise is ok but the clear is not working correctly. Maybe to do with the GotoXY function.
Here's the component source, please let me know if you find anything. It looks like maybe the initialise is ok but the clear is not working correctly. Maybe to do with the GotoXY function.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Posts: 139
- Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
- Has thanked: 20 times
- Been thanked: 25 times
Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
Hi Ben,
Very kind of you and super quick, thanks! I will keep you posted with any news.
Cheers!
R
Very kind of you and super quick, thanks! I will keep you posted with any news.
Cheers!
R
-
- Posts: 139
- Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
- Has thanked: 20 times
- Been thanked: 25 times
Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
Hi Ben,
Yes there seem to be some minor differences in the init routines between the FC8 SSD1322 component and the LCD I'm using. So will adapt, test and report back.
Really appreciate providing the source, it makes things so much quicker to fix.
Again cheers for this!
Yes there seem to be some minor differences in the init routines between the FC8 SSD1322 component and the LCD I'm using. So will adapt, test and report back.
Really appreciate providing the source, it makes things so much quicker to fix.
Again cheers for this!
-
- Posts: 139
- Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
- Has thanked: 20 times
- Been thanked: 25 times
Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
OK commands didn't make any difference.
Seems that when I enable the display with command 0xAF then the noise shows.
I have asked the supplier to help with what could be wrong here, so might take some time before I get any news about this one.
Thanks!
Seems that when I enable the display with command 0xAF then the noise shows.
I have asked the supplier to help with what could be wrong here, so might take some time before I get any news about this one.
Thanks!
-
- Posts: 139
- Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
- Has thanked: 20 times
- Been thanked: 25 times
Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
Some more on this. I can control the brightness of the display, so there is communication and the display is responding for sure to the commands.
The Init routines seem fine, but the Clear Display is indeed doesn't work
The Init routines seem fine, but the Clear Display is indeed doesn't work
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
Hello,
Please can you try the new component file I've pushed to the update system.
Hopefully this will clear the display and if that works then I know how to fix the pixel functions too.
Let me know how you get on.
Please can you try the new component file I've pushed to the update system.
Hopefully this will clear the display and if that works then I know how to fix the pixel functions too.
Let me know how you get on.
- Attachments
-
- gLCD_SSD1322.fcpx
- (10.13 KiB) Downloaded 206 times
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Posts: 139
- Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
- Has thanked: 20 times
- Been thanked: 25 times
Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
Hi ben,
It's strange, it still doesn't work. With the component source, I did expose the WirteCommand and WriteData functions so I could play with those from the FC8 propram.
I can send a command followed by data to the display and works fine, for example set brightness level. But I'm not sure how to write data to the dispay.
I have noticed the Write RAM Command (5Ch). But I'm not sure how to use it either... (After entering this single byte command, data entries will be written into the display RAM until another command is written. Address pointer is increased accordingly. This command must be sent before write data into RAM).
I have not found this command in the component source, so I'm lost as to how to implement it...
Many thanks again for your help,
R
It's strange, it still doesn't work. With the component source, I did expose the WirteCommand and WriteData functions so I could play with those from the FC8 propram.
I can send a command followed by data to the display and works fine, for example set brightness level. But I'm not sure how to write data to the dispay.
I have noticed the Write RAM Command (5Ch). But I'm not sure how to use it either... (After entering this single byte command, data entries will be written into the display RAM until another command is written. Address pointer is increased accordingly. This command must be sent before write data into RAM).
I have not found this command in the component source, so I'm lost as to how to implement it...
Many thanks again for your help,
R
-
- Posts: 139
- Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
- Has thanked: 20 times
- Been thanked: 25 times
Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
One more thing, the contact from BuyDisplay gave me a quick example routine to clear the display as follows.
Hope this helps!
R
Code: Select all
void Clear_ram()
{ unsigned char x,y;
Write_Instruction(0x15);
Write_Data(0x00);
Write_Data(0x77);
Write_Instruction(0x75);
Write_Data(0x00);
Write_Data(0x7f);
Write_Instruction(0x5C);
for(y=0;y<128;y++)
{ for(x=0;x<120;x++)
{ Write_Data(0x00);
}
}
}
R
- Attachments
-
- SD1322_Commands.jpg (90.49 KiB) Viewed 9228 times
-
- Posts: 139
- Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
- Has thanked: 20 times
- Been thanked: 25 times
-
- Posts: 139
- Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
- Has thanked: 20 times
- Been thanked: 25 times
Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
Hi guys,
The people from Buydisplay have shared a demo code that should work with this display for your reference.
Thanks!
The people from Buydisplay have shared a demo code that should work with this display for your reference.
Thanks!
- Attachments
-
- ER-OLED032-1_8080-8-bit_DemoCode.txt
- (65.63 KiB) Downloaded 219 times
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
Hello,
I've had another look at the code compared to what you posted and it all seems to look ok. However it appears the clear function is not working for some reason.
Do you know the pixel dimensions of your display? It might be worth trying to increase the pixel height in the component properties and see if this makes any difference. I'm wondering if there is an offset between the display pixels and the controller IC ram.
I've had another look at the code compared to what you posted and it all seems to look ok. However it appears the clear function is not working for some reason.
Do you know the pixel dimensions of your display? It might be worth trying to increase the pixel height in the component properties and see if this makes any difference. I'm wondering if there is an offset between the display pixels and the controller IC ram.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Posts: 139
- Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:07 am
- Has thanked: 20 times
- Been thanked: 25 times
Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
Thanks Ben,
The display is 256x64 pixels.
What I'll do is to mimic he init routine the Egineer from Buydisplay gave me and see if that inits the display correctly. If not, I'll get back to them, if it does, then we would have moved a step forward.
Regards
R
The display is 256x64 pixels.
What I'll do is to mimic he init routine the Egineer from Buydisplay gave me and see if that inits the display correctly. If not, I'll get back to them, if it does, then we would have moved a step forward.
Regards
R
- katela
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:04 am
- Location: South Africa
- Has thanked: 3 times
- Been thanked: 1 time
- Contact:
Re: SSD1322 Init Doesn't Work
Hi Ronald,
Did you get it right?
I'm also trying to use the SSD1322 with PIC16F1887 but doesn't work.
Tried with Parallel and buffered mode with no success.
I am using Flowcode v9. More info here: https://www.flowcode.co.uk/forums/viewt ... f=10&t=506
Did you get it right?
I'm also trying to use the SSD1322 with PIC16F1887 but doesn't work.
Tried with Parallel and buffered mode with no success.
I am using Flowcode v9. More info here: https://www.flowcode.co.uk/forums/viewt ... f=10&t=506
Free online Microcontroller Tutorials & Projects for beginners to advanced.
Website: https://www.studentcompanion.co.za/cate ... e-for-pic/
YouTube Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/StudentCompanionSA
Website: https://www.studentcompanion.co.za/cate ... e-for-pic/
YouTube Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/user/StudentCompanionSA