Hi all!
Is it possible to use connection points to jump from one macro to another?
It didn't work for me anyway. Am I missing declaring them correctly?
If not, what is the best way to accomplish this?
Thanks,
Craig
Connection Points
Moderator: Benj
- CRAIG CHAMBERLAIN
- Flowcode V4 User
- Posts: 24
- Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:05 am
- Location: Madison Wisconsin
- Has thanked: 6 times
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: Connection Points
Hi Craig,
It is my belief that you should not be able to use jump connections (labelled A: B: etc.), only call components to jump from main to a macro.
This is because a macro is really a sub routine, as soon as the macro has finished, the program will carry on from the point just after where the call to the macro was made.
If you use another call macro component inside a macro you will have a great risk of corruption, and program could crash.
Each call to macro takes up a stack, then if delays are use more stacks are used. There is only a small number of stacks that can be used, and this can be exceed which is what causes the crash.
In a flowchart, it is good practice to try and avoid connections if you can. Well written flowcharts don't have any if it is at all possible.
Hope I have made sense.
Martin
It is my belief that you should not be able to use jump connections (labelled A: B: etc.), only call components to jump from main to a macro.
This is because a macro is really a sub routine, as soon as the macro has finished, the program will carry on from the point just after where the call to the macro was made.
If you use another call macro component inside a macro you will have a great risk of corruption, and program could crash.
Each call to macro takes up a stack, then if delays are use more stacks are used. There is only a small number of stacks that can be used, and this can be exceed which is what causes the crash.
In a flowchart, it is good practice to try and avoid connections if you can. Well written flowcharts don't have any if it is at all possible.
Hope I have made sense.
Martin
Martin
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: Connection Points
I have moved this topic to the V4 section as you are a V4 registered user.
Martin