LCD/VFD Display Glitch
Moderator: Benj
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 118
- Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:09 pm
- Has thanked: 17 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
LCD/VFD Display Glitch
Hi,
I have a strange problem with a vfd display that I'm using for a project. When power is applied to the mcu a cursor flashes on the top left hand corner of the display. The cursor then moves to a different position when text or numbers are printed on the display. If I remove power from the mcu for a second and then re-apply power the cursor is gone. If however I leave power disconnected for anything longer than 15 - 20 seconds the flashing cursor is back when I re-apply power. I have tried another vfd display and an lcd display but it has the same problem. I have also tried changing various settings in the configuration screen but nothing has solved the cursor problem.
Has anyone experienced this type of problem before?
Many thanks
Phil
I have a strange problem with a vfd display that I'm using for a project. When power is applied to the mcu a cursor flashes on the top left hand corner of the display. The cursor then moves to a different position when text or numbers are printed on the display. If I remove power from the mcu for a second and then re-apply power the cursor is gone. If however I leave power disconnected for anything longer than 15 - 20 seconds the flashing cursor is back when I re-apply power. I have tried another vfd display and an lcd display but it has the same problem. I have also tried changing various settings in the configuration screen but nothing has solved the cursor problem.
Has anyone experienced this type of problem before?
Many thanks
Phil
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: LCD/VFD Display Glitch
Hi Phil,
Do you have access to the datasheet for the display. There should be a command you can send to force the cursor on and off.
Do you have access to the datasheet for the display. There should be a command you can send to force the cursor on and off.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 118
- Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:09 pm
- Has thanked: 17 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
Re: LCD/VFD Display Glitch
Hi Benj,
Thanks for your reply. I have just downloaded the data sheet for the vfd display I have. I have had a read through the data sheet and there is a section on page 12 regarding "Power On Reset" but I am not quite sure how to implement it in FlowCode. would you be able to take a look for me?
Many thanks again.
Phil
EDIT:-
For some reason I can't save the data sheet from the manufacturers website. The make of the display is Noritake Itron, Model No:- CU16029-UW1J. Here is a direct link to the data sheet from the manufacturers website:- http://www.noritake-itron.com/Specs/CU- ... e01-b1.pdf
Thanks for your reply. I have just downloaded the data sheet for the vfd display I have. I have had a read through the data sheet and there is a section on page 12 regarding "Power On Reset" but I am not quite sure how to implement it in FlowCode. would you be able to take a look for me?
Many thanks again.
Phil
EDIT:-
For some reason I can't save the data sheet from the manufacturers website. The make of the display is Noritake Itron, Model No:- CU16029-UW1J. Here is a direct link to the data sheet from the manufacturers website:- http://www.noritake-itron.com/Specs/CU- ... e01-b1.pdf
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: LCD/VFD Display Glitch
Hi Phil,
Go to website and right select link and select save target as
Or load the pdf link in your browser then depending on browser you can either right click and save as
or it will open pdf in adobe reader then there will be a save as option.
I have done this for you.
Martin
What you can do is either:philip davies wrote:For some reason I can't save the data sheet from the manufacturers website.
Go to website and right select link and select save target as
Or load the pdf link in your browser then depending on browser you can either right click and save as
or it will open pdf in adobe reader then there will be a save as option.
I have done this for you.
Martin
- Attachments
-
- CU16029-UW1J_e01-b1.pdf
- (476.09 KiB) Downloaded 361 times
Martin
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 118
- Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:09 pm
- Has thanked: 17 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
Re: LCD/VFD Display Glitch
Hi Martin,
Thank you for doing that for me
The web browser that i'm using would not give me an option to save the link so I tried opening the link in a new tab and clicking file and then save as but when looking for the attachment in the saved location it wasn't there. It also wouldn't open with adobe. I could only view the file with the web browser, and that took a couple of attempts. My internet connection might be giving me problems. I will have to reset the router and try again.
Thanks again though for being able to upload the data sheet on here.
Phil
Thank you for doing that for me

The web browser that i'm using would not give me an option to save the link so I tried opening the link in a new tab and clicking file and then save as but when looking for the attachment in the saved location it wasn't there. It also wouldn't open with adobe. I could only view the file with the web browser, and that took a couple of attempts. My internet connection might be giving me problems. I will have to reset the router and try again.
Thanks again though for being able to upload the data sheet on here.
Phil
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: LCD/VFD Display Glitch
Hi Phil,
Your welcome.
I posted file just in case your facing browser issues.
Glad I did now.
Your welcome.
I posted file just in case your facing browser issues.
Glad I did now.

Martin
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: LCD/VFD Display Glitch
Hello,
Looking at the datasheet if you call the Command function using the value below then it should force the cursor to disappear.
Command ( 0x0C )
Looking at the datasheet if you call the Command function using the value below then it should force the cursor to disappear.
Command ( 0x0C )
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 118
- Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:09 pm
- Has thanked: 17 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
Re: LCD/VFD Display Glitch
Hi Benj,
Do I add the command in c-code of my flowchart at the begining or somewhere else?
Thanks again for your help.
Phil
Do I add the command in c-code of my flowchart at the begining or somewhere else?
Thanks again for your help.
Phil
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: LCD/VFD Display Glitch
Hi Phil,
The LCD component should have already have an in built component macro named Command so you can call it anywhere near the start of your program.
The LCD component should have already have an in built component macro named Command so you can call it anywhere near the start of your program.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 118
- Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:09 pm
- Has thanked: 17 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
Re: LCD/VFD Display Glitch
Hi Benj,
Well I need to say a big thank you for finding the solution to my problem
After a bit of trial and error with finding the correct place to add the comand in the flowchart the flashing cursor has gone. First attempt resulted in the display either not working or showing randome symbols or flickering numbers but changing some configuration settings and finding the right place in the flowchart to call the LCD macro and adding the command the problem has been solved.
Many thanks again for your kind help
Phil
Well I need to say a big thank you for finding the solution to my problem

After a bit of trial and error with finding the correct place to add the comand in the flowchart the flashing cursor has gone. First attempt resulted in the display either not working or showing randome symbols or flickering numbers but changing some configuration settings and finding the right place in the flowchart to call the LCD macro and adding the command the problem has been solved.
Many thanks again for your kind help

Phil