Page 1 of 1

String manipulation

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2022 10:10 pm
by RGV250
Hi,
First post so hopefully it is in the right place.
I am used to PLC's and Microcontrollers in BASIC so this is a bit new to me.
I am just starting with the demo, I am trying to read a string in, I don't think I will have a problem there but then I need to split it into sections.
If I were using BASIC I would use something like Left$() or Mid$() to split the string but I cannot find anything similar in Flowcode.

Regards,
Bob

Re: String manipulation

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2022 11:23 pm
by medelec35
Hello.
Yes this is a good place for your question.
Take a look at this Wiki page
I would recommend Introduction to Microcontroller Programming for learning how to use Flowcode.

Re: String manipulation

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2022 11:45 pm
by RGV250
Thanks, just what I was looking for. I was looking under component help.

Bob

Re: String manipulation

Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2022 12:40 am
by medelec35
That's great, thanks for letting us know.
If you want to find the string manipulation via flowcode help.
Double click on the calculation Command Icon. which will show the Properties.
Click on the ? bottom left.
Scroll down on the new window that opens.
Just below the Variable and Function Boxheading you will see a string function link.
There is also a mathematical function link as well.
Something that can catch beginners to Flowcode out.
If comparing variable values, don't use

Code: Select all

AND OR NOT
use && for AND, || (pipe key next to Z on UK keyboards) for OR and ! for NOT