I am having to use a MEGA instead of the UNO because the HEX file size is too large.
The 2 picture files, attached, are the permissions dialog and the error text, cited below.
The error message is "You do not have a valid license to perform this action."
The permissions dialog indicates I have the AVR but not the ARD (assume this means the Arduino). But I routinely program the UNO.
Can I get help to rectify the situation?
Thanks in advance.
Programming to Mega 2560 - No Permissions
Moderator: Benj
-
- Posts: 162
- Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:57 am
- Has thanked: 23 times
- Been thanked: 16 times
- Contact:
Programming to Mega 2560 - No Permissions
- Attachments
-
- You do not have a valid license to perform this action..png (103.1 KiB) Viewed 2999 times
-
- Flowcode Permissions.png (209.15 KiB) Viewed 2999 times
-
- Posts: 162
- Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:57 am
- Has thanked: 23 times
- Been thanked: 16 times
- Contact:
Re: Programming to Mega 2560 - No Permissions
I might add, what is the URL to purchase additional permissions?
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1208
- Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 11:57 am
- Has thanked: 70 times
- Been thanked: 440 times
Re: Programming to Mega 2560 - No Permissions
Hi Bill,
The Uno is one of the free targets - so yes, you'd need to buy the Arduino pack to use the Mega...
First, though, is it possible to 'trim' your code to fit. (I once went to a lecture where it was asserted that all programs can be optimised by (at least) one instruction - this of course leads to all programs being pretty (ok very) short...
I'd hesitate (slightly) to buy at the moment - if you are thinking of purchasing v9 which is due imminently (unless Matrix give you a very good upgrade offer?) - some of the new targets (ESP8266 for example) might be a better fit (bigger & faster (and possibly cheaper)). Might also be worth looking at some of the alternatives in the AVR pack and using them - it might be possible to use the Mega2560 chip and program the Arduino Mega using either a usb-tiny type programmer (or a second Arduino) - or just some command line code with avr-dude.
Or maybe step-up to the Raspberry-Pi??
If all else fails head to https://www.matrixtsl.com/flowcode/buy/
Martin
The Uno is one of the free targets - so yes, you'd need to buy the Arduino pack to use the Mega...
First, though, is it possible to 'trim' your code to fit. (I once went to a lecture where it was asserted that all programs can be optimised by (at least) one instruction - this of course leads to all programs being pretty (ok very) short...
I'd hesitate (slightly) to buy at the moment - if you are thinking of purchasing v9 which is due imminently (unless Matrix give you a very good upgrade offer?) - some of the new targets (ESP8266 for example) might be a better fit (bigger & faster (and possibly cheaper)). Might also be worth looking at some of the alternatives in the AVR pack and using them - it might be possible to use the Mega2560 chip and program the Arduino Mega using either a usb-tiny type programmer (or a second Arduino) - or just some command line code with avr-dude.
Or maybe step-up to the Raspberry-Pi??
If all else fails head to https://www.matrixtsl.com/flowcode/buy/
Martin
-
- Posts: 162
- Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:57 am
- Has thanked: 23 times
- Been thanked: 16 times
- Contact:
Re: Programming to Mega 2560 - No Permissions
Thank you, I did purchase and install the ARD component.
I am running into another challenge now - confounding. I sucessfully programmed the MEGA 2560 R4 "Hello World" program.
Then I started expanding the code, and now it will not work.
The errors vary. The latest message is that it "times out." The following is part of the settings message. "C:\Users\BillS\Desktop\Flowcode\Template>"C:\PROGRA~2\Flowcode\Common\COMPIL~1\avr\BATCHF~1\..
\bin\avrdude.exe" -p m2560 -P com6 -b 115200 -c wiring -D -U flash:w:"Template_MEGA_2560_R3_V1.hex"
Maybe there is a setting in the above code that needs to be changed. I have attached FV file of the short example.
Any suggestions would be helpful.
I am running into another challenge now - confounding. I sucessfully programmed the MEGA 2560 R4 "Hello World" program.
Then I started expanding the code, and now it will not work.
The errors vary. The latest message is that it "times out." The following is part of the settings message. "C:\Users\BillS\Desktop\Flowcode\Template>"C:\PROGRA~2\Flowcode\Common\COMPIL~1\avr\BATCHF~1\..
\bin\avrdude.exe" -p m2560 -P com6 -b 115200 -c wiring -D -U flash:w:"Template_MEGA_2560_R3_V1.hex"
Maybe there is a setting in the above code that needs to be changed. I have attached FV file of the short example.
Any suggestions would be helpful.
- Attachments
-
- Template_MEGA_2560_R3_V1.fcfx
- (8.31 KiB) Downloaded 163 times
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1208
- Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 11:57 am
- Has thanked: 70 times
- Been thanked: 440 times
Re: Programming to Mega 2560 - No Permissions
Sounds like the upload is failing for some reason.
It's getting com 6 - is this the correct port ? (Good to check - see another thread about FC sometimes attempting to write to the string com port)
Martin
It's getting com 6 - is this the correct port ? (Good to check - see another thread about FC sometimes attempting to write to the string com port)
Martin