Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
Re: Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
i use it for school, so far the 2nd one who uses flowcode in school for my GIP ( Integrated Test )
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1189
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
- Has thanked: 460 times
- Been thanked: 523 times
Re: Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
i am using flowcode to develop a temperature recording device using thermopiles to monitor brake pad and caliper temperatures
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.
Datalogger
I want to design a datalogger that uses say an 18F2550 to measure 4-8 voltages and transfers the values via USB every 1 second, at the fastest, to a PC for real time graphical display and storage. I have not used the USB component in Flowcode yet. Is this easy to design/program even for a USB novice like me?
The hardware is very easy, but it seems that a lot/all of your examples are geared to ECIO/eBlocks so not sure how easy it would be to use them with my design. On the other hand, looking at the ECIO28P datasheet, it's not expensive and provides almost the complete hardware for my datalogger with 10 A/D inputs, so might as well buy it and save myself the hassle of debugging my own design. What is the reslolution of the A/Ds when using the sample VB software? 8 bit or full 10bit ,and at 5 V max in? May need to add some relays to give input scaling.
Now
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/lc_USB_made_simple.php
says that the USB software includes:-
VB6 interface examples
VB2008 interface examples
Labview 8.0 interface examples
VB and Labview runtime engines
Now as far as I can see Labview, whilst good, costs minimum of $80 for student version and usually >$1500 ( http://www.ni.com/labviewse/select.htm) so is way too expensive for me.
Is there any open source/shareware software like Labview that I can use instead as I don’t want to write my own software in VB? I am not looking for vast complexity. Velleman post their PCLAB2000SE software free here, http://www.vellemanusa.com/us/enu/download/files/ with K8047 .DLL and maybe VB samples, but it presumably uses some proprietary comms protocol that may be difficult to replicate. The K8047 is a datalogger.
I was hoping for something a bit more sophisticated than a terminal programme to read the raw data, which would then have to be pasted into Excel to plot the graphs.
The hardware is very easy, but it seems that a lot/all of your examples are geared to ECIO/eBlocks so not sure how easy it would be to use them with my design. On the other hand, looking at the ECIO28P datasheet, it's not expensive and provides almost the complete hardware for my datalogger with 10 A/D inputs, so might as well buy it and save myself the hassle of debugging my own design. What is the reslolution of the A/Ds when using the sample VB software? 8 bit or full 10bit ,and at 5 V max in? May need to add some relays to give input scaling.
Now
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/lc_USB_made_simple.php
says that the USB software includes:-
VB6 interface examples
VB2008 interface examples
Labview 8.0 interface examples
VB and Labview runtime engines
Now as far as I can see Labview, whilst good, costs minimum of $80 for student version and usually >$1500 ( http://www.ni.com/labviewse/select.htm) so is way too expensive for me.
Is there any open source/shareware software like Labview that I can use instead as I don’t want to write my own software in VB? I am not looking for vast complexity. Velleman post their PCLAB2000SE software free here, http://www.vellemanusa.com/us/enu/download/files/ with K8047 .DLL and maybe VB samples, but it presumably uses some proprietary comms protocol that may be difficult to replicate. The K8047 is a datalogger.
I was hoping for something a bit more sophisticated than a terminal programme to read the raw data, which would then have to be pasted into Excel to plot the graphs.
- tanlipseong
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 3:11 pm
- Location: Malaysia
- Contact:
Re: Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
I am using flowcode to develop Production test jig that test product for functional pass/fail.
During test, the jig will capture test data and send it to PC through RS232. (may use ZigBee in future).
PC running Excel VBA will collect test data and save them in network server.
Regards
During test, the jig will capture test data and send it to PC through RS232. (may use ZigBee in future).
PC running Excel VBA will collect test data and save them in network server.
Regards
- JohnCrow
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1367
- Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
- Location: Lincolnshire
- Has thanked: 364 times
- Been thanked: 716 times
Card Entry System
Just bought the RFID board & FC4 Pro
Been playing with the free version for a few months. You just get to an intersting point in the development and it wont let you add anymore icons etc (Otherwise no one wound pay for a full version
)
Developed a simple card entry. One card will allow entry using the UID, the other wont.
After the correct card is detected, a 3 digit code is needed to turn the relay to open the door solanoid on for 5 seconds.
Then it relocks.
A wrong card or wrong passcode activates the alarms. This needs a second code to clear.
Had 1 small bug while writing the code, the reset code didnt work.
After a bit of head scratching it clicked
Id used 258 as the reset code. Must be because this is bigger than 255 (8 bits). Tried a smaller number and all is fine.
No way I'd ever do anything like that in assembler or even C
Well worth the money, great piece of programming.
Been playing with the free version for a few months. You just get to an intersting point in the development and it wont let you add anymore icons etc (Otherwise no one wound pay for a full version

Developed a simple card entry. One card will allow entry using the UID, the other wont.
After the correct card is detected, a 3 digit code is needed to turn the relay to open the door solanoid on for 5 seconds.
Then it relocks.
A wrong card or wrong passcode activates the alarms. This needs a second code to clear.
Had 1 small bug while writing the code, the reset code didnt work.
After a bit of head scratching it clicked
Id used 258 as the reset code. Must be because this is bigger than 255 (8 bits). Tried a smaller number and all is fine.
No way I'd ever do anything like that in assembler or even C
Well worth the money, great piece of programming.
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !
- tanlipseong
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 3:11 pm
- Location: Malaysia
- Contact:
Pass / Fail Test Jig for manufacturing use
The project has been successful, i have since added in xBee module (from http://www.digi.com) for sending test data to remote PC, also have added in 2X16 LCD module for local display of test result.tanlipseong wrote:I am using flowcode to develop Production test jig that test product for functional pass/fail.
During test, the jig will capture test data and send it to PC through RS232. (may use ZigBee in future).
PC running Excel VBA will collect test data and save them in network server.
Regards
Thanks to Flowcode.
TanLS
- tanlipseong
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 3:11 pm
- Location: Malaysia
- Contact:
Controlling Test Equipment and Capturing Test Data
Next Project is using PIC16F887 to work with below hardware: -
1. Capture data from Barcode reader.
2. Controlling production test equipment.
3. Controlling UUT on production test jigs.
4. Capturing test data from test equipment and test jig.
5. Sending test data to a remote PC.
6. Displaying test result on test jig (LCD, LED and Buzzer).
Rgds
TanLS
1. Capture data from Barcode reader.
2. Controlling production test equipment.
3. Controlling UUT on production test jigs.
4. Capturing test data from test equipment and test jig.
5. Sending test data to a remote PC.
6. Displaying test result on test jig (LCD, LED and Buzzer).
Rgds
TanLS
Re: Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
We try to make a heartbeat monitor using flowcode V3
Re: Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
Regarding my datalogger idea I bought an ECIO40P but have failed so far to be able to get the datalogger to work. Programming the Labview or Visual Basic modular to go with the Flowcode is more daunting than I had hoped. Not nearly as simple as Flowcode.I am sure it’s simple for someone who say can programme in C or Assembler, but if they can do that they probably would not be buying Flowcode.
-
- Flowcode V4 User
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:25 am
- Location: Chicago USA, & Oxford & Northampton UK
- Has thanked: 6 times
Re: Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
I am using flowcode to control UV curing lamps, on wide format digital printers and other digital printing applications.
-
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:46 pm
- Location: TheNetherlands
- Has thanked: 4 times
- Been thanked: 1 time
Re: Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
I use Fowcode 4.0 for building a PTZ controller by means of RS232 on protocol VISCA.
I am new in programming with flowcode and I have to say that I have some problems with the RS232 stuff in flowcode.
Perhaps can someone help me?
I am new in programming with flowcode and I have to say that I have some problems with the RS232 stuff in flowcode.
Perhaps can someone help me?
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:00 am
- Location: Mississippi, United States
- Been thanked: 1 time
- Contact:
Re: Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
An older project I was attempting to work on using Flowcode is a jukebox that uses a PIC18F4220 to read from multimedia files from a SD/MMC card and outputting it to a VS1011 Multimedia Chip. I've gotten some of the interface work done, but I still haven't figured out how to read the SD/MMC card and output it to the multimedia chip. My most recent project is a 4 zone alarm system that uses a PIC16F877 connected to Push to make switches, 4 NC Switches (for the zones), a keypad, 4 LEDs and a buzzer. I kind of based it on my earlier project of an electronic lock.
This is the way the world ends,
This is the way the world ends,
This is the way the world ends,
Not with a Bang,
But With a Belch
BURRRRRRPPPPPP
This is the way the world ends,
This is the way the world ends,
Not with a Bang,
But With a Belch
BURRRRRRPPPPPP
- Steve
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 3431
- Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
- Has thanked: 114 times
- Been thanked: 422 times
Re: Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
You might be interested to know that we're running a little competition over on the V4 forum:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... =29&t=9106
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... =29&t=9106
-
- Flowcode V4 User
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:38 pm
- Has thanked: 2 times
- Been thanked: 1 time
Re: Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
hi all, just thought i would post what i have done and am trying to do using flowcode.......
so far i have built what is known as the worlds largest floor piano as seen on blue peter with the saturdays playing on it, and also seen on strictly it takes to with all the pro dancers having a competition, it was also shown on strictly come dancing last week with harry and aliona, at the moment it is using just basic switching but am currently working on an upgrade.... flowcode made my life alot easier while building this project... have got many more ideas for it which are only going to be possible thru the use of flowcode, video clips can be seen on youtube i do believe, so do feel free to check them out
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SwlQX84v69U
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSbKNcDq ... re=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZQl0DzZazo
so far i have built what is known as the worlds largest floor piano as seen on blue peter with the saturdays playing on it, and also seen on strictly it takes to with all the pro dancers having a competition, it was also shown on strictly come dancing last week with harry and aliona, at the moment it is using just basic switching but am currently working on an upgrade.... flowcode made my life alot easier while building this project... have got many more ideas for it which are only going to be possible thru the use of flowcode, video clips can be seen on youtube i do believe, so do feel free to check them out
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SwlQX84v69U
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSbKNcDq ... re=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZQl0DzZazo
Re: Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
Hello,
I make e wetherstation and I use a PIC 16f877a.
I have a anemometer,
a wind direction,
a temperature,
a barometric pressure.
I use a pic 16f877a en I make a connection between the PIC and the computer and than I put it on wifi so that I Can see wetherstation on a samsung tablet in my livingroom.
I make also with my son a programm in CC+. we put the programm on a webserver.
Now i need a usb driver between the pic 16f877a and the computer, but i can't find it on Matrix Multimedia.
Can you tel me where i can find it?
Greetings Henk Middendorp.
I make e wetherstation and I use a PIC 16f877a.
I have a anemometer,
a wind direction,
a temperature,
a barometric pressure.
I use a pic 16f877a en I make a connection between the PIC and the computer and than I put it on wifi so that I Can see wetherstation on a samsung tablet in my livingroom.
I make also with my son a programm in CC+. we put the programm on a webserver.
Now i need a usb driver between the pic 16f877a and the computer, but i can't find it on Matrix Multimedia.
Can you tel me where i can find it?
Greetings Henk Middendorp.
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: Let Us Know What You Are Doing With Flowcode
Hi Henk,
If it's an Eblock your after then you can use EB039
Or you can search for UART to USB converter.
My personal favorite is CP series.
From experience they are more tolerant than FTDI range (when using RS232 in software mode).
If using hardware mode then there should be no issues at all with FTDI.
You can pick them up very cheap, but make sure signal wise they are 5V compatible, since you can get 3V3 versions as well.
Then its just a case of using flowcodes RS232 component
Martin
If it's an Eblock your after then you can use EB039
Or you can search for UART to USB converter.
My personal favorite is CP series.
From experience they are more tolerant than FTDI range (when using RS232 in software mode).
If using hardware mode then there should be no issues at all with FTDI.
You can pick them up very cheap, but make sure signal wise they are 5V compatible, since you can get 3V3 versions as well.
Then its just a case of using flowcodes RS232 component
Martin
Martin