EVERBOUQUET - MC1604B-SBLW - LCD MODULE
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1189
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
- Has thanked: 460 times
- Been thanked: 523 times
EVERBOUQUET - MC1604B-SBLW - LCD MODULE
Just having some problems with this dispaly at the moment if anybody can point me in the right direction
my display just shows 4 lines of squares - which reading on here indicates it hasn't started correctley,
bit at a loss checked my wiring and all seams ok, attached data sheets and test flow code program
using a pic16f887
steve
oh one of the data sheets wouldn't upload (too big )
part is from farnell -
http://uk.farnell.com/everbouquet/mc160 ... -LCDMODULE
my display just shows 4 lines of squares - which reading on here indicates it hasn't started correctley,
bit at a loss checked my wiring and all seams ok, attached data sheets and test flow code program
using a pic16f887
steve
oh one of the data sheets wouldn't upload (too big )
part is from farnell -
http://uk.farnell.com/everbouquet/mc160 ... -LCDMODULE
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: EVERBOUQUET - MC1604B-SBLW - LCD MODULE
Could it be you have LVP enabled in your configuration , which uses RB3. You have also got your LCD connected to port B which also includes RB3. So you need to disable LVP or change port your LCD is connected to. Also D0 to D3 of your LCD hardware should not be connected, only D4 to D7 is connected to B0 and B3 respectively. Are you using the EB006? if not, what crystal speed are you using?
You need to make sure the crystal speed matches the clock speed in flowcode.
You need to make sure the crystal speed matches the clock speed in flowcode.
Martin
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1189
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
- Has thanked: 460 times
- Been thanked: 523 times
Re: EVERBOUQUET - MC1604B-SBLW - LCD MODULE
i am using EB006 With a EB016
have made the following conections :-
D4 - Pin 1
D5 - pin 2
D6 - Pin 3
D7 - Pin 4
RS - Pin 5
/E - Pin 6
RW - 0 Volts
Will try on another port, How do ypu Disable LVP ?
Steve
have made the following conections :-
D4 - Pin 1
D5 - pin 2
D6 - Pin 3
D7 - Pin 4
RS - Pin 5
/E - Pin 6
RW - 0 Volts
Will try on another port, How do ypu Disable LVP ?
Steve
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: EVERBOUQUET - MC1604B-SBLW - LCD MODULE
From top menu. Select 'Chip'Steve001 wrote: How do ypu Disable LVP ?
Steve
'Configure..'
Then on new window that appears click on 'Switch to expert config screen'
Change setting on 'Low Voltage Program. LVP is only used if not using an external power supply and only using usb connection.
After you have disabled LVP you have all of port B to use.
If it is fist time you have used this chip. to save a lot of pain, create a 1Hz flasher, just to check configurations are OK, and chip is running as it should be.
- Attachments
-
- Flowcode1.fcf
- (4.5 KiB) Downloaded 595 times
Martin
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: EVERBOUQUET - MC1604B-SBLW - LCD MODULE


Martin
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1189
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
- Has thanked: 460 times
- Been thanked: 523 times
Re: EVERBOUQUET - MC1604B-SBLW - LCD MODULE
Think i Know where i went wrong now , port B can be used and configured for "in system programming" I.E Pick kit2 is that correct ?
and i have now turned that off .
Steve
and i have now turned that off .
Steve
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: EVERBOUQUET - MC1604B-SBLW - LCD MODULE
You can still program via pickit2 with LVP disabled, since pickit2 can generate a high enough voltage to program in normal mode via ICSP. If you want to program in LVP mode on EB006, you need to move lower right jumper (LVP jumper) and USB/PSU jumper. Then you need to be careful since your supply for Eb006 will be via USB. If using an external PSU, then no point in having LVP enabled. So you don't need pickit2 for in system programming.
Martin
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1189
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
- Has thanked: 460 times
- Been thanked: 523 times
Re: EVERBOUQUET - MC1604B-SBLW - LCD MODULE
i am wanting to use some of the prgramed character patterns that are in this display.
looking at page 13 of the manuel how do i send the up arrow to my display ?
I.E hex code 5C ?
i have also attached my circuit diagram that i am using as sombody on here wanted a 4 line display
data sheet wouldnt upload (too big) link is bellow
http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/319678.pdf
steve
looking at page 13 of the manuel how do i send the up arrow to my display ?
I.E hex code 5C ?
i have also attached my circuit diagram that i am using as sombody on here wanted a 4 line display
data sheet wouldnt upload (too big) link is bellow
http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/319678.pdf
steve
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: EVERBOUQUET - MC1604B-SBLW - LCD MODULE
Hi Steve.Steve001 wrote:i am wanting to use some of the prgramed character patterns that are in this display.
looking at page 13 of the manuel how do i send the up arrow to my display ?
I.E hex code 5C ?
Try this: (zero not letter O)
You May find the up arrow is C5 and not 5C?
Higher Bit 1st then lower bit.
5C would probably display a backward slash?
Martin.
Martin
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1189
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
- Has thanked: 460 times
- Been thanked: 523 times
Re: EVERBOUQUET - MC1604B-SBLW - LCD MODULE
used this program and got a result that i didn't expect ,
should this code have been 0x6A ?
have tryed differnt hex codes and get differnt results ?
steve
should this code have been 0x6A ?
have tryed differnt hex codes and get differnt results ?
steve
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: EVERBOUQUET - MC1604B-SBLW - LCD MODULE
5C in binary is 0101 1100 = LHLH HHLL
The symbol on CHARACTER GENERATOR ROM on page 29 does match with the displayed symbol in your picture. (1st set LHLH= 4 Upper Bits, HHLL = 4 Lower Bits)
I can't see a full up arrow, so you have a choice.
1) use LCD PrintScreen then select Printstring abd enter "^" in the box
2)Run the attached flowchart, and determine number that gives Character best suited to your application.
When you find suitable number, just place that number in PrintASCII function.
The symbol on CHARACTER GENERATOR ROM on page 29 does match with the displayed symbol in your picture. (1st set LHLH= 4 Upper Bits, HHLL = 4 Lower Bits)
I can't see a full up arrow, so you have a choice.
1) use LCD PrintScreen then select Printstring abd enter "^" in the box
2)Run the attached flowchart, and determine number that gives Character best suited to your application.
When you find suitable number, just place that number in PrintASCII function.
- Attachments
-
- hex code text_Modified.fcf
- (5.5 KiB) Downloaded 541 times
Martin