Hi
Im new to flowcode and it seems like a wonderfull tool but I have one problem that I cant seem to figure out
and the help file isn't very helpful with this.
I want to use flowcode (v3 or v4) to output four different pwm signals on the PIC18F4431 but it seems that
you can only generate two at a time. Is there a way to do more than two and can you assign them to specific
pwm pins on the PIC. Also I want to generate the signal at 50Hz using a 20kHz Xtal on the pic. I havent played around with it too much but I couldn't seem to get it that low. Is it possable?
Thanx
Steve
PWM Limitations
- Steve
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 3433
- Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
- Has thanked: 114 times
- Been thanked: 422 times
Re: PWM Limitations
The current PWM implementation only allows a maximum of 2 PWM outputs. However, you could do what you are asking by embedding your own custom C code into your Flowcode program.
Re: PWM Limitations
Hello,
I need also more than two PWM Signals in V4.
Is it technically feasible to integreat the PWM Feature more than 2 Limitations
in the Future?
My "C-Code" knowledge are very bad and i don't know how to
integrate this in Flowcode with "C".
Thank you for response
I need also more than two PWM Signals in V4.
Is it technically feasible to integreat the PWM Feature more than 2 Limitations
in the Future?
My "C-Code" knowledge are very bad and i don't know how to
integrate this in Flowcode with "C".
Thank you for response
- Steve
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 3433
- Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
- Has thanked: 114 times
- Been thanked: 422 times
Re: PWM Limitations
Flowcode will eventually support as many PWMs as are available on the device. But this will not happen soon.
You should be able to use custom code to manipulate all available PWM outputs, but you'll need a bit of C programming skills for this (or a friend who can help).
Perhaps this would make a good article for the newsletter/forum. We give away up to Β£100 of E-Blocks (or other software/hardware) for suitable articles, so if anyone fancies having a go...
You should be able to use custom code to manipulate all available PWM outputs, but you'll need a bit of C programming skills for this (or a friend who can help).
Perhaps this would make a good article for the newsletter/forum. We give away up to Β£100 of E-Blocks (or other software/hardware) for suitable articles, so if anyone fancies having a go...
Re: PWM Limitations
Thank you for information steve.
So I must learn C-Code to use 3 PWM Channels and I hope
in the future it is integrated in Flowcode.
regards Andreas
So I must learn C-Code to use 3 PWM Channels and I hope
in the future it is integrated in Flowcode.
regards Andreas
-
- Posts: 65
- Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:59 am
- Has thanked: 17 times
- Been thanked: 10 times
Re: PWM Limitations
Hello
Is there maybe allready news, to work with more than 2 pwm channels in Flowcode? Is there maybe a update FC4 in the near future.
Is it easy (for someone with c-code experience) to copy and change the c-code of Flowcode from 2 to 4x PWM channnels.
Or is that a lot of work.
Thanks Danny
Is there maybe allready news, to work with more than 2 pwm channels in Flowcode? Is there maybe a update FC4 in the near future.
Is it easy (for someone with c-code experience) to copy and change the c-code of Flowcode from 2 to 4x PWM channnels.
Or is that a lot of work.
Thanks Danny
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: PWM Limitations
Have you looked at:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 19&start=0
THis only applies if more than 2 CCP channels.
Will not apply if only using ECCP.
I believe the facility to use more than two PWMs will be added to Flowcode V5
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 19&start=0
THis only applies if more than 2 CCP channels.
Will not apply if only using ECCP.
I believe the facility to use more than two PWMs will be added to Flowcode V5
Martin
- Dan81
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 268
- Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:07 pm
- Location: Albi France
- Been thanked: 60 times
- Contact:
Re: PWM Limitations
Hello
if you want to use more than 2 PWM (actually Pic Hardware possibility)
- if the frequency is not to high (about 1 kHz) you can use Timer interrupt.
- or use a special IC like Led dimmer for example (with I2C bus)
Daniel
if you want to use more than 2 PWM (actually Pic Hardware possibility)
- if the frequency is not to high (about 1 kHz) you can use Timer interrupt.
- or use a special IC like Led dimmer for example (with I2C bus)
Daniel