eeprom read/write
Moderator: Benj
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:46 pm
- Location: Cape Town South Africa
eeprom read/write
Hi there,
Please can anybody help.
I am trying to simulate the eeprom component. after the LCD is updated from a key pressed on the key board I write to eeprom but all that happens in the component block is zero's are returned the data column.
Not sure how to insert my flowcode in this request.
Please can anybody help.
I am trying to simulate the eeprom component. after the LCD is updated from a key pressed on the key board I write to eeprom but all that happens in the component block is zero's are returned the data column.
Not sure how to insert my flowcode in this request.
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: eeprom read/write
Hello Frank,
Please can you attach your Flowcode program file so far and we will have a look.
Please can you attach your Flowcode program file so far and we will have a look.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:46 pm
- Location: Cape Town South Africa
Re: eeprom read/write
Hi thank you for getting.
You know what it like at 57 grey and slow. I have attached the flowcode file.
Regards, Frank.
EEPROMTESTRW.fcf
You know what it like at 57 grey and slow. I have attached the flowcode file.
Regards, Frank.
EEPROMTESTRW.fcf
- Attachments
-
- EEPROMTESTRW.fcf
- (11.5 KiB) Downloaded 369 times
Re: eeprom read/write
Hi frank
I havent got time to check your flowchart tonight but have a look at this thread on writing to eeprom, also note dont write to location zero, start at location 1
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... rom#p34681 there are many other examples on the forum
Regards
Dazz
I havent got time to check your flowchart tonight but have a look at this thread on writing to eeprom, also note dont write to location zero, start at location 1
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... rom#p34681 there are many other examples on the forum
Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php
- JohnCrow
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1367
- Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
- Location: Lincolnshire
- Has thanked: 364 times
- Been thanked: 716 times
Re: eeprom read/write
Hi Frank
Ive just tried your code in simulation. (Not tried it on hardware though) seems to work ok.
When I press a key on the keypad the key number is shown on the LCD and the ascii value is stored in the EEProm.
Then the next key press shows the value on the LCD and stores the ascii in the next EEprom location.
Can you give a bit more explination what problem you are seeing with your code.
Also what version of FC are you running.
One thing I did spot is you are using unsigned numbers in your varables, the EEprom can only handle Bytes so this is using extra memory.
Ive attched a slightly modifed chart
Ive just tried your code in simulation. (Not tried it on hardware though) seems to work ok.
When I press a key on the keypad the key number is shown on the LCD and the ascii value is stored in the EEProm.
Then the next key press shows the value on the LCD and stores the ascii in the next EEprom location.
Can you give a bit more explination what problem you are seeing with your code.
Also what version of FC are you running.
This can give problemsAs Dazz pointed out - also note dont write to location zero, start at location 1
One thing I did spot is you are using unsigned numbers in your varables, the EEprom can only handle Bytes so this is using extra memory.
Ive attched a slightly modifed chart
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:46 pm
- Location: Cape Town South Africa
Re: eeprom read/write
Hi John,
Thank you very much for your time.
I am using V5 professional version.
I opened your modified version and ran the simulation. The same problem happens. After a key press, the number is displayed on the LCD but in the panel window the eeprom display right hand column (Value) a "zero" is written and not the ascii value. This repeats after each key press.
Regards Frank
Thank you very much for your time.
I am using V5 professional version.
I opened your modified version and ran the simulation. The same problem happens. After a key press, the number is displayed on the LCD but in the panel window the eeprom display right hand column (Value) a "zero" is written and not the ascii value. This repeats after each key press.
Regards Frank
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: eeprom read/write
Hi Frank,
The latest version of Flowcode is v5.5.2.1
Can you use Help, Check for updates and check what version you have and include all the numbers please.
If your version is out of date then I believe a browser will be automatically opened on the update page
I have modified your flowchart the way I thing you would like it to work (but I could be wrong of course).
When you press the keypad just that digit is display for a second, then it gets added EEPROM and then to a string, then string is displayed. e.g 1
Next number pressed e.g 2, then just 2 is displayed, then added to next address in EEPROM and then to a string, then string is displayed ie 12 etc.
If your EEPROM is still showing 0's you might have an older version of V5 installed?
Here is a screen shot after pressing 12345:
The latest version of Flowcode is v5.5.2.1
Can you use Help, Check for updates and check what version you have and include all the numbers please.
If your version is out of date then I believe a browser will be automatically opened on the update page
I have modified your flowchart the way I thing you would like it to work (but I could be wrong of course).
When you press the keypad just that digit is display for a second, then it gets added EEPROM and then to a string, then string is displayed. e.g 1
Next number pressed e.g 2, then just 2 is displayed, then added to next address in EEPROM and then to a string, then string is displayed ie 12 etc.
If your EEPROM is still showing 0's you might have an older version of V5 installed?
Here is a screen shot after pressing 12345:
- Attachments
-
- EEPROMTESTRW V2.fcf
- (15.5 KiB) Downloaded 391 times
Martin
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:46 pm
- Location: Cape Town South Africa
Re: eeprom read/write
Hi thank you,
I think you are correct my sotware must be out of date. My version in V5.0.0.0 (16.01.2012) I have tried in the past to get updates but get the 404 message.
When I use the help drop down box.... updates.... from within flowcode it returns a page with very large light blue message 404 page not found.
Thanks very much for your input.
Frank
I think you are correct my sotware must be out of date. My version in V5.0.0.0 (16.01.2012) I have tried in the past to get updates but get the 404 message.
When I use the help drop down box.... updates.... from within flowcode it returns a page with very large light blue message 404 page not found.
Thanks very much for your input.
Frank
Re: eeprom read/write
Hi Frank
If you follow the link 1/2 way down the page enter the last 2 sections of your key and it will downlad the latest version http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/flowcode.php
Regards
Dazz
If you follow the link 1/2 way down the page enter the last 2 sections of your key and it will downlad the latest version http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/flowcode.php
Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:46 pm
- Location: Cape Town South Africa
Re: eeprom read/write
dazz,
Great you have solved my problem. I would like to extend MUCH appreciation to everybody that chipped in with advice and help. My V5 is now updated and purring. I did venture to the page you mentioned last week but as it did not make reference to updates I was worried it would clash with the current software installed. Now figures it has loaded the full package and corrected itself as required. The update under help is also working.
regards,
Frank down south Cape Town
Great you have solved my problem. I would like to extend MUCH appreciation to everybody that chipped in with advice and help. My V5 is now updated and purring. I did venture to the page you mentioned last week but as it did not make reference to updates I was worried it would clash with the current software installed. Now figures it has loaded the full package and corrected itself as required. The update under help is also working.
regards,
Frank down south Cape Town
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: eeprom read/write
Version your running was first out some time ago, so sorry I have forgot about wrong hyperlink.frankSchulz wrote: I have tried in the past to get updates but get the 404 message.
When I use the help drop down box.... updates.... from within flowcode it returns a page with very large light blue message 404 page not found.
Just glad we all help you solve your issue.
Team work is just great

Martin
Martin