Hi,
I am afraid that I'm a newly registered member.
Indeed, the next question made me register and join your community.
I'm an electrical engineering student and I received an assignment from my professor.
I should make a 4x4 keypad and print out values on an LCDdisplay depending on the pushed button.
I have to make my own 4x4 keypad *** . The reason why is not of a huge importance.
I thought someone here could help me and explain me how does the existing 4x4keypad work.
I have to connect 1 row per 1pin so I couldn't come up with any idea how to detect which button was pushed exactly.
I am aware that my problem is more connected with logic than flowcode itself.
Thank you.
[Help needed] Flowcode Keypad
- JohnCrow
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1367
- Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
- Location: Lincolnshire
- Has thanked: 364 times
- Been thanked: 716 times
Re: [Help needed] Flowcode Keypad
Hi eldarjah
Have you had a look at the e-block keypad datasheet. It has a full circuit and shows how the switches are wired.
That way you could make one from conventional push switchs and some resistors.
Simply, when a switch is pushed it joins two of the lines three vertical ie down from 1 2 3 and four horizonal through 1 4 7 *
The pic detects which 2 lines are connected
Hope Ive explained it simply, bit early in the morning & just got to work.
If you can use flowcode, a home brew pad should still work ok.
Have you had a look at the e-block keypad datasheet. It has a full circuit and shows how the switches are wired.
That way you could make one from conventional push switchs and some resistors.
Simply, when a switch is pushed it joins two of the lines three vertical ie down from 1 2 3 and four horizonal through 1 4 7 *
The pic detects which 2 lines are connected
Hope Ive explained it simply, bit early in the morning & just got to work.
If you can use flowcode, a home brew pad should still work ok.
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !
- Enamul
- Posts: 1772
- Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:34 pm
- Location: Nottingham, UK
- Has thanked: 271 times
- Been thanked: 814 times
Re: [Help needed] Flowcode Keypad
Hi,
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/resourc ... 4-30-1.pdf
It will give you idea how to make 4*3 keypad which you can modify to 4*4..
All the programming resources also in the following link..
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/product ... PHPSESSID=
Have a look n start and let us know how are you getting into that..
Enamul
As john said you can have a look first at the following link...eldarjah wrote:I should make a 4x4 keypad and print out values on an LCDdisplay depending on the pushed button.
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/resourc ... 4-30-1.pdf
It will give you idea how to make 4*3 keypad which you can modify to 4*4..
All the programming resources also in the following link..
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/product ... PHPSESSID=
Have a look n start and let us know how are you getting into that..
Enamul
Re: [Help needed] Flowcode Keypad
I thought someone here could help me and explain me how does the existing 4x4keypad work.
I have to connect 1 row per 1pin so I couldn't come up with any idea how to detect which button was pushed exactly.
I have to connect 1 row per 1pin so I couldn't come up with any idea how to detect which button was pushed exactly.
saber
- Jordy101091
- Posts: 519
- Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:02 pm
- Location: The Netherlands
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 188 times
- Contact:
Re: [Help needed] Flowcode Keypad
Well it is quite easy.
I will try to explain to you how it works.
Take the datasheet from the eblock with the Keypad.
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/resourc ... 4-30-1.pdf
its all about scanning Colum's and Rows. If you apply 5V on R1:A and you press key 1 then you know that whatever is connected to that pin A you just know that Key 1 is pressed.
However you cannot connect R1:A & R1:B & R1:C to 5V, if you do this you cannot tell if you pressed key 1, key 2 or key 3.
So to interface the Keypad to a PIC, AVR, ARM you would need at least for a 4x3 keypad, 7 I/O available.
For a 4x4 keypad you would need to have 8 I/O.
for a 4x3 keypad connect 3 pins to the Rows and 4 pins to the columns.
I hope this helps you out, if not tell me what you don't understand and I will try to explain more in depth.
Regards Jordy
I will try to explain to you how it works.
Take the datasheet from the eblock with the Keypad.
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/resourc ... 4-30-1.pdf
its all about scanning Colum's and Rows. If you apply 5V on R1:A and you press key 1 then you know that whatever is connected to that pin A you just know that Key 1 is pressed.
However you cannot connect R1:A & R1:B & R1:C to 5V, if you do this you cannot tell if you pressed key 1, key 2 or key 3.
So to interface the Keypad to a PIC, AVR, ARM you would need at least for a 4x3 keypad, 7 I/O available.
For a 4x4 keypad you would need to have 8 I/O.
for a 4x3 keypad connect 3 pins to the Rows and 4 pins to the columns.
I hope this helps you out, if not tell me what you don't understand and I will try to explain more in depth.
Regards Jordy
the will to learn, should not be stopped by any price