UDP over serial or Modem connection
UDP over serial or Modem connection
Good day all.
I need some help or at least a point in the right direction. I would like to know if it is possible to Use UDP over a Serial or Modem connection. And if so, could you give an example of how this would be done.
Ondra
I need some help or at least a point in the right direction. I would like to know if it is possible to Use UDP over a Serial or Modem connection. And if so, could you give an example of how this would be done.
Ondra
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Hello Ondra
We have examples of UDP over TCP/IP connections. If you would like these examples then email me at ben@matrixmultimedia.co.uk
We have examples of UDP over TCP/IP connections. If you would like these examples then email me at ben@matrixmultimedia.co.uk
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Hello Ondra
Im afraid that this is something that I have never looked into. Im sure it is possible but I am unable to provide any help.
Im afraid that this is something that I have never looked into. Im sure it is possible but I am unable to provide any help.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Hello
You can assign the channel and port by using the TCP_IP hardware macro "Create_UDP_Socket"
You can assign the channel and port by using the TCP_IP hardware macro "Create_UDP_Socket"
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Hello Ondra
Yes the port is the remote port of the computer you are talking to.
The channel is the UDP data channel. I think that there can be several different connections running at once.
Yes the port is the remote port of the computer you are talking to.
The channel is the UDP data channel. I think that there can be several different connections running at once.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Hello Ondra
The channel is a virtual or time spliced channel rather then an individual port.
The Flowcode component communicates to the E-Block TCP/IP module via I2C so the hardware port that is used is normally portC. This depends on the PICmicro you are using.
The channel is a virtual or time spliced channel rather then an individual port.
The Flowcode component communicates to the E-Block TCP/IP module via I2C so the hardware port that is used is normally portC. This depends on the PICmicro you are using.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Hello Ondra
Sorry I dont think that there are any plans to implement PPP into the TCP/IP at the moment.
Sorry I dont think that there are any plans to implement PPP into the TCP/IP at the moment.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Re: UDP over serial or Modem connection
I'm back at this again. I want to program my micro controller to connect to the internet over dialup modem.
I can get the PIC to dial and connect by sending serial AT commands to the modem. I want to communicate over the
link using the UDP protocol. Is there any backdoor tweak to the code that can help me do this? Thanks in advance.
Ondra
I can get the PIC to dial and connect by sending serial AT commands to the modem. I want to communicate over the
link using the UDP protocol. Is there any backdoor tweak to the code that can help me do this? Thanks in advance.
Ondra
Re: UDP over serial or Modem connection
Thanks Steve. Since you guys already have it working, and so as to not have to reinvent the whole thing. Is the following possible and or practical . Compile a program that implements the TCP/IP component. Open the c code file, copy the UDP portion, paste it in a C block in my program, then pass and receive information to and from it. If this is doable would you or could you give assistance, payed or otherwise. If you could, tell me where to start I'll get going, then with a little back and forward communica, we'll have conquered one more topic for me and those that come behind. Thanks in advance.
Ondra
Ondra
- Steve
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 3433
- Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
- Has thanked: 114 times
- Been thanked: 422 times
Re: UDP over serial or Modem connection
Flowcode doesn't do that much with the UDP protocol itself. The "TCP/IP" component that allows Flowcode to work with UDP only works with a specific external chip that contains the TCP/IP stack.
By all means look at the code that Flowcode produces, but I think you will find it does not give enough details about UDP itself.
By all means look at the code that Flowcode produces, but I think you will find it does not give enough details about UDP itself.