Flowcode dsPIC student/home version

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 4.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 4 or higher. To sign up for this forum topic please use the "Online Resources" link in the Flowcode Help Menu.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
clee
Flowcode v5 User
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:23 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Flowcode dsPIC student/home version

Post by clee »

First post, hello all...

I have Flowcode for dsPIC and have a few questions about functions that may not be available on the home version.

I can't get interrupts to work, even the example file that came with FC doesn't work. Also when using a dsPIC with built in 16bit DACs there doesn't seem to be any output functions or macro libraries, is that something available with the full version or do you need to write that code as a C file?

Thanks,
very nice program so far.
Craig

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3433
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 422 times

Re: Flowcode dsPIC student/home version

Post by Steve »

Hi Craig,

Interrupts should work. Can you please post an example program with an explanation of what is going wrong.

We have not produced a Flowcode "component" for the DAC module within the dsPIC. But it looks like it is fairly easy to communicate with via C code.

clee
Flowcode v5 User
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:23 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Flowcode dsPIC student/home version

Post by clee »

Thanks for the reply Steve.

I've just started to experiment with the interrupts, but just loading Tutorial 17 that came with FC (dsPIC) doesn't seem to work. Monitoring the 2 variables, they always stay at zero and the 7 segment display never changes.

I'm running FC on an AspireOne netbook and copied the install disk to a USB drive to install (no optical drive). Maybe something didn't get installed?

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3433
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 422 times

Re: Flowcode dsPIC student/home version

Post by Steve »

What hardware and chip are you using?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode dsPIC student/home version

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Example 17 uses timer 1 which does not simulate in version 4. A way to simulate timers in v4 is to include a call to the interrupt macro as part of the main. This way every time you go through the loop the interrupt is called. You can then remove this extra call when using the hardware. This has all been sorted out for simulated timer interrupts in v5.
Attachments
TUT_17_modded.fcf_pic16
(8 KiB) Downloaded 252 times

clee
Flowcode v5 User
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:23 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Flowcode dsPIC student/home version

Post by clee »

Thanks,

Is it just Timer1 that doesn't simulate, or timers in general for the dsPICS? I'm using the 33FJ128GP802

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode dsPIC student/home version

Post by Benj »

Hello,

From the looks of it, timers in general do not simulate.

clee
Flowcode v5 User
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:23 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Flowcode dsPIC student/home version

Post by clee »

Ok, good to know.

nnnnff
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:55 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Modification examples

Post by nnnnff »

TUT_17_modded.fcf_pic16
Modification examples
(8 KiB) Downloaded 299 times

Post Reply