Am unable to get ICD working for the above chip. FC5 simulation and flashing of code to micro are deemed to be working well.
Although ICD options in PROJECT OPTIONS tab have been activated,
I cannot establish connection/comms to the chip (ICD compatible chip). Pls suggest possible fix.
When trying to establish connection via the DEBUG TAB the following errors are reported:
Compliler messages are appended for your inspection.
FCF file is a simple routine that runs LED board- realtime code check is fine.
Thanking you for your assistance.
ICD issues on PIC16F877A
Moderator: Benj
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: ICD issues on PIC16F877A
Hello,
From the C file you posted it looks like you have not re-compiled since enabling the ICD mode.
To get ICD working you must enable it in the project options and then perform a compile to chip operation. After the programming has finished close the compilation messages window and click the start button. Hopefully the ICD should now fire up for you.
Let me know how you get on.
From the C file you posted it looks like you have not re-compiled since enabling the ICD mode.
To get ICD working you must enable it in the project options and then perform a compile to chip operation. After the programming has finished close the compilation messages window and click the start button. Hopefully the ICD should now fire up for you.
Let me know how you get on.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 9521
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: Northamptonshire, UK
- Has thanked: 2585 times
- Been thanked: 3815 times
Re: ICD issues on PIC16F877A
In addition to Ben's reply, You can also get the same response i/e different chars of data on the top row and all 0's on the bottom row if you move ICD2/USB jumper from USB to ICD2
If you have then you will need to move jumper back to USB.
Have you tried a 1Hz test (not with ICD selected) to make sure switches are set correctly if your using EB006?
ICD as default uses RB6 and RB7 for communication. have you got anything connected to these connections hardware wise?
I assume your microcontroller is being programmed OK with no errors?
What hardware are you using e.g. MultiProgrammer EB006 V7 or Flowkit?
If you have then you will need to move jumper back to USB.
Have you tried a 1Hz test (not with ICD selected) to make sure switches are set correctly if your using EB006?
ICD as default uses RB6 and RB7 for communication. have you got anything connected to these connections hardware wise?
I assume your microcontroller is being programmed OK with no errors?
What hardware are you using e.g. MultiProgrammer EB006 V7 or Flowkit?
Martin
Re: ICD issues on PIC16F877A

Ben, sorry I sent you the incorrect file. Have checked the original C file and ICD stuff seems to be there. Have even tried it with a new code set and have appended this file for your perusal. Result is still the same with previous error message saying that
"ICD has failed to communicate with the target. Make sure the target is powered correctly, then reset it and try again"
medelec35: I have validated that jumper setting is defaulted to USB and checked integrity of connections. Have also checked setting for switches and progam is operational when ICD is not active. Will run a test routine for EB006 and revert in the next post.
I have also ensured that connections to all of Port B are free.
Yes micro programs fine, but just no ICD
Hardware = EB006 V8
Question: Do I have to have PPPv3 (on the ELSAM V2.4 mini CD) installed as I have experimented with it installed and then uninstalled without any noticeable difference.
Re: ICD issues on PIC16F877A
Hi canions
I havent got an icd here, but can you open your hex file with PPP (its in your flowcode folder/tools.) once open ,click view ,then click config(you may need to tell ppp what chip your using) and check if the background debug is enabled, if not enable it and click ok, apply then save to file and flash the new file to your pic.
Regards
Dazz
I havent got an icd here, but can you open your hex file with PPP (its in your flowcode folder/tools.) once open ,click view ,then click config(you may need to tell ppp what chip your using) and check if the background debug is enabled, if not enable it and click ok, apply then save to file and flash the new file to your pic.
Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php
Re: ICD issues on PIC16F877A
Hi Dazz thanks for the info and suggestion.
I have reinstalled PPPv3 and the USB drivers for EB006-00-8 (The drivers on the supplied CD are newer than the ones on the download page by one day). I have also been able to elimate the ntport.dll error received on launching PPPv3; from the dll fix found at this post: http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 216#p30216
I have double checked that 'Backgroud Debug' has been Enabled. Recompiled all the files without any success. There does not appear to be any comms issues with programming & Auto-detect when running Flowcode or PPPv3. Only ICD still fails and the same error is reported. When I click "YES" the second line is still filled with 0x00.
I am going to play with another chip say 16F684 and see what happens. Will keep you updated. Goodnight
I have reinstalled PPPv3 and the USB drivers for EB006-00-8 (The drivers on the supplied CD are newer than the ones on the download page by one day). I have also been able to elimate the ntport.dll error received on launching PPPv3; from the dll fix found at this post: http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 216#p30216
I have double checked that 'Backgroud Debug' has been Enabled. Recompiled all the files without any success. There does not appear to be any comms issues with programming & Auto-detect when running Flowcode or PPPv3. Only ICD still fails and the same error is reported. When I click "YES" the second line is still filled with 0x00.
I am going to play with another chip say 16F684 and see what happens. Will keep you updated. Goodnight
Re: ICD issues on PIC16F877A
Decided to tweak Oscillator and Comm speed settings as I noted that some of my LEDs were flashing on stepping into program in Debug Mode before nuisance error was reported.
Hardware: Removed default crystal for 4MHz, set SW2 to OSC and Power to EB006-00-8 defaulted to PSU
Flowcode: Build Tab--> Project Options
Clock Speed : 4000000 (Mhz)
--> ICD Tab, Comm speed: 200 Back to General Options Tab--> Configure Chip settings as follows: (Note Background Debug has been DISABLED not enabled) And finally --> Options: Build Tab --> Compile to Chip.
...finally the ICD works.
At this juncture I am attributing my problems to sync due to the comms and clock speeds. Pls feel free to comment
Hardware: Removed default crystal for 4MHz, set SW2 to OSC and Power to EB006-00-8 defaulted to PSU
Flowcode: Build Tab--> Project Options
Clock Speed : 4000000 (Mhz)
--> ICD Tab, Comm speed: 200 Back to General Options Tab--> Configure Chip settings as follows: (Note Background Debug has been DISABLED not enabled) And finally --> Options: Build Tab --> Compile to Chip.
...finally the ICD works.
At this juncture I am attributing my problems to sync due to the comms and clock speeds. Pls feel free to comment

Last edited by canions on Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: ICD issues on PIC16F877A
Hi
Glad your up and running, i always check the double check the config settings before i write the hex to the chip, as i find sometimes they change
Regards
Dazz
Glad your up and running, i always check the double check the config settings before i write the hex to the chip, as i find sometimes they change
Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php