I have just upgraded to V6 and trying some of my old V5 programs. I have a problem with displaying strings on my LCD. I am using EB-006-00-8 with EB083-00-1.
To test this issue on both versions, I created a simple flowchart in versions 5 and 6. Version 6 is attached.
It works fine in version 5 but not version 6. It dispalys the wrong number.
One observation i made with V6 was that if my ulong variable (called test) is less than 5 digits long, it works ok. Adding another digit and it fails.
I did find something about this issue on the forum where it says use the format something like txt = string test but this produces a compiler error.
Has anyone else had similar issue? I sure would be pleased to hear from anyone who can suggest a fix.
Best Regards
Richard Hogan.
Writing strings to LCD
Moderator: Benj
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: Writing strings to LCD
Hello Richard,
Which version of v6 are you using and is this the error your receiving?
Which version of v6 are you using and is this the error your receiving?
Print A String V6.c(618:23): error: ',' expected
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 3:53 pm
- Location: Thailand
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 3 times
Re: Writing strings to LCD
Hello Benj,
Happy new year and welcome back to the hot seat!
I am using version V6.0.4.0 (27-11-2013). Operating system is XP.
I get compiler error when i use the format txt = string test. Txt is my string variable and test is my ulong variable.
See attached file for error message info.
If i use txt = ToString$ (test) it does compile but LCD shows wrong value if test variable is longer than 5 digits.
I hope this is helpful.
Best Regards
Richard Hogan.
Happy new year and welcome back to the hot seat!
I am using version V6.0.4.0 (27-11-2013). Operating system is XP.
I get compiler error when i use the format txt = string test. Txt is my string variable and test is my ulong variable.
See attached file for error message info.
If i use txt = ToString$ (test) it does compile but LCD shows wrong value if test variable is longer than 5 digits.
I hope this is helpful.
Best Regards
Richard Hogan.
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 3:53 pm
- Location: Thailand
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 3 times
Re: Writing strings to LCD
Hello Benj,
Just one point I need to mention in case it is important.
The PC computer that I use for Version 5 runs windows 7. For flowcode V6 (my home PC) runs XP.
Best Regards
Richard Hogan.
Just one point I need to mention in case it is important.
The PC computer that I use for Version 5 runs windows 7. For flowcode V6 (my home PC) runs XP.
Best Regards
Richard Hogan.
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 3:53 pm
- Location: Thailand
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 3 times
Re: Writing strings to LCD
Hello Benj,
Just to assist with finding this issue, i installed V6 onto my laptop running windows 7.
If i use the format txt = Tostring (text) it will compile but LCD displays wrong value.
If i use the format txt = string test then i get compile error as per your previous mail (error: ',' expected).
Hope this helps,
Best Regards
Richard Hogan.
Just to assist with finding this issue, i installed V6 onto my laptop running windows 7.
If i use the format txt = Tostring (text) it will compile but LCD displays wrong value.
If i use the format txt = string test then i get compile error as per your previous mail (error: ',' expected).
Hope this helps,
Best Regards
Richard Hogan.
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: Writing strings to LCD
Thanks for letting me know.
I've logged the bug in our bug tracker so we should be able to get this sorted for you.
I've logged the bug in our bug tracker so we should be able to get this sorted for you.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Flowcode v5 User
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 3:53 pm
- Location: Thailand
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 3 times
Re: Writing strings to LCD
Thanks Benj.Benj wrote:Thanks for letting me know.
I've logged the bug in our bug tracker so we should be able to get this sorted for you.
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 4:33 pm
- Has thanked: 5 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
Re: Writing strings to LCD
Hi
I am having same problems trying to display ulint and ulong to Glcd. I have tried converting ulong and uint to string but get wrong value. it would appear that you can only convert an int to string. Any help in solving this problem would be appreciated.
Happy New Year by the way!

I am having same problems trying to display ulint and ulong to Glcd. I have tried converting ulong and uint to string but get wrong value. it would appear that you can only convert an int to string. Any help in solving this problem would be appreciated.
Happy New Year by the way!

The older the boy the bigger the toy