Hi
I have loaded Pingtest FC10 xc8 v2.45 Compiler, but unfortunately still unable to ping.
Regards.
W5500 Ethernet not working in Version 10
-
- Posts: 30
- http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl
- Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:50 pm
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 2 times
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1913
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
- Has thanked: 619 times
- Been thanked: 644 times
Re: W5500 Ethernet not working in Version 10
OK thanks.
As a workaround, here are instructions of getting FC10 to work with the compiler shipped with FC7 and FC8 assuming the toolchain has been installed.
1. Extract the attached file from the zip file.
2. Browse to this location using File Explorer, it's hidden by default so just paste the link into your address bar. and add the extracted .bat file.
2. With your project loaded, select Build > Compiler Options > Compiler tab.
3. Click the Disk icon (Options Save) and change the name to something meaningful e,g xc8 v1.45 or xc8 FC8 compiler etc then click OK.
4. Select the new saved compiler name and make sure Default compiler for the platform C for Pic is ticked.
5. Select Browse & change Executable Files (*.exe) to Batch Files (*.bat) then again paste in the address bar. After pressing enter you should see your new pic_xc8 batch file to select.
6. Click on Open, then OK. You should now be able to compile using FC10 and xc8 v1.45
Can you let me know how you get on, please?
As a workaround, here are instructions of getting FC10 to work with the compiler shipped with FC7 and FC8 assuming the toolchain has been installed.
1. Extract the attached file from the zip file.
2. Browse to this location using File Explorer, it's hidden by default so just paste the link into your address bar.
Code: Select all
C:\ProgramData\MatrixTSL\FlowcodeV10\FCD\PIC\batch
2. With your project loaded, select Build > Compiler Options > Compiler tab.
3. Click the Disk icon (Options Save) and change the name to something meaningful e,g xc8 v1.45 or xc8 FC8 compiler etc then click OK.
4. Select the new saved compiler name and make sure Default compiler for the platform C for Pic is ticked.
5. Select Browse & change Executable Files (*.exe) to Batch Files (*.bat) then again paste
Code: Select all
C:\ProgramData\MatrixTSL\FlowcodeV10\FCD\PIC\batch
6. Click on Open, then OK. You should now be able to compile using FC10 and xc8 v1.45
Can you let me know how you get on, please?
- Attachments
-
- pic_xc8_v1.45_comp.zip
- (848 Bytes) Downloaded 594 times
Martin
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1913
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
- Has thanked: 619 times
- Been thanked: 644 times
Re: W5500 Ethernet not working in Version 10
Hello.
It looks like the issue is caused by software mode.
Currently, I don't know why different version compilers have an effect on software mode, we are investing it.
Can you also try using channel 1 instead?
You can connect to port C, so MOSI is port C.3, etc.
Alternatively, I believe it will work with the compiler shipped with FC10 if you change the prescale from fosc/4 to fosc/16
Spi in software mode is inferior to non-software mode as it won't run as fast or as reliable.
It looks like the issue is caused by software mode.
Currently, I don't know why different version compilers have an effect on software mode, we are investing it.
Can you also try using channel 1 instead?
You can connect to port C, so MOSI is port C.3, etc.
Alternatively, I believe it will work with the compiler shipped with FC10 if you change the prescale from fosc/4 to fosc/16
Spi in software mode is inferior to non-software mode as it won't run as fast or as reliable.
Martin
Re: W5500 Ethernet not working in Version 10
HI
Thanks for your response, I have tried your workarond to no avail.
I have attached the Message log.
I have tried changing the precaler to Fosc/16 in software mode and it works,
I have also tried in hardware mode on port B works ok.
I had tried Fosc/16 before , but that was trying to get Modbus TCP Working, which is my original problem but I can now retry in V10.
Regards.
Thanks for your response, I have tried your workarond to no avail.
I have attached the Message log.
I have tried changing the precaler to Fosc/16 in software mode and it works,
I have also tried in hardware mode on port B works ok.
I had tried Fosc/16 before , but that was trying to get Modbus TCP Working, which is my original problem but I can now retry in V10.
Regards.
- Attachments
-
- PingtestV10.msg.txt
- (1.93 KiB) Downloaded 703 times
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1913
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
- Has thanked: 619 times
- Been thanked: 644 times
Re: W5500 Ethernet not working in Version 10
Hello.
If you look at the batch file within the zip file you will see it has
Looking at your msg.txt, it has
Flowcode should be accessing and not .
Another thing is I have renamed the bat file I attached from the default to
If you look at your message msg.txt file it shows Flowcode is set for the default bach file.
Within Compiler options, did you do options from 3 onwards?
Is the tick showing for the new saved name and not the default bat file?
If you look at the batch file within the zip file you will see it has
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\Common\Compilers\pic\bin\xc8.exe"
Code: Select all
C:\Users\user\Desktop\PingtestV10>"C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\Compilers\pic\\bin\xc8-cc.exe
Code: Select all
xc8.exe
Code: Select all
xc8-cc.exe
Another thing is I have renamed the bat file I attached from the default
Code: Select all
pic_xc8_comp.bat
Code: Select all
pic_xc8_v1.45_comp.bat
Within Compiler options, did you do options from 3 onwards?
Is the tick showing for the new saved name and not the default bat file?
Martin
Re: W5500 Ethernet not working in Version 10
Hi
I am having no joy getting the V8 compiler working in V10, I am obviously doing something wrong?
I did try the Pingtest programme changing the the prescale from FOSC/4 to FOSC/16 as suggested and that worked, but when I tried this solution to my Modbus project it still would no ping. Also I tried hardware Channel 1and connected to Port B and that worked, but would not work when I tried this solution on my Modbus TCP either.
So I need to get the V8 compiler working in V10.
Regards.
I am having no joy getting the V8 compiler working in V10, I am obviously doing something wrong?
I did try the Pingtest programme changing the the prescale from FOSC/4 to FOSC/16 as suggested and that worked, but when I tried this solution to my Modbus project it still would no ping. Also I tried hardware Channel 1and connected to Port B and that worked, but would not work when I tried this solution on my Modbus TCP either.
So I need to get the V8 compiler working in V10.
Regards.
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1913
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
- Has thanked: 619 times
- Been thanked: 644 times
Re: W5500 Ethernet not working in Version 10
OK, Let's get you up and running with getting the v98 compiler to wok with v10.
I'm assuming you placed the extracted file called pic_xc8_v1.45_comp.bat
Within: C:\ProgramData\MatrixTSL\FlowcodeV10\FCD\PIC\batch\
If that is the case, when you select Build > Project options, can you take a screenshot of all of the compiler window with the Compiler tab selected and the PIC on the left showing
For example here is mine: Within the location window should be:
Unless you renamed your bat file to something different?
I'm assuming you placed the extracted file called pic_xc8_v1.45_comp.bat
Within: C:\ProgramData\MatrixTSL\FlowcodeV10\FCD\PIC\batch\
If that is the case, when you select Build > Project options, can you take a screenshot of all of the compiler window with the Compiler tab selected and the PIC on the left showing
For example here is mine: Within the location window should be:
Code: Select all
C:\ProgramData\MatrixTSL\FlowcodeV10\FCD\PIC\batch\pic_xc8_v1.45_comp.bat
Martin
Re: W5500 Ethernet not working in Version 10
Hi Martin
Thanks for getting back to me, just to let you know I have re written my Modbus TCP programs both Master and Slave, but connected my W5500 modules to Port B and made them Hardware instead of Software on channel 1 and things are now working, I am now able to set the coil on the slave.
So hopefully this may have cured the problem.
I will have another go tomorrow, at getting the V8 compiler working with V10.
I will let you know how I get on.
Thanks very much for your help, it is much appreciated.
Regards.
Mark.
Thanks for getting back to me, just to let you know I have re written my Modbus TCP programs both Master and Slave, but connected my W5500 modules to Port B and made them Hardware instead of Software on channel 1 and things are now working, I am now able to set the coil on the slave.
So hopefully this may have cured the problem.
I will have another go tomorrow, at getting the V8 compiler working with V10.
I will let you know how I get on.
Thanks very much for your help, it is much appreciated.
Regards.
Mark.
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1913
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
- Has thanked: 619 times
- Been thanked: 644 times
Re: W5500 Ethernet not working in Version 10
Hi Mark.
You're welcome.
Personally, I would always choose channel over software and the speeds reached can be so much faster.
I have only used software if all the hardware pins are taken up and I need to add additional modules.
For new designs, I would steer clear of software.
You're welcome.
Personally, I would always choose channel over software and the speeds reached can be so much faster.
I have only used software if all the hardware pins are taken up and I need to add additional modules.
For new designs, I would steer clear of software.
Martin
Re: W5500 Ethernet not working in Version 10
Hi Martin
I have got the Version8 compiler working in Version 10 Software, and I can ping my test program. But it appears that the problem with the Modbus TCP, is due to the the fact that I was using Port A software mode for my W5500.
Changing to Hardware CH 1 on Port B cures the problem, so I will have to alter my project to use this configuration.
Many Thanks.
Regards.
Mark
I have got the Version8 compiler working in Version 10 Software, and I can ping my test program. But it appears that the problem with the Modbus TCP, is due to the the fact that I was using Port A software mode for my W5500.
Changing to Hardware CH 1 on Port B cures the problem, so I will have to alter my project to use this configuration.
Many Thanks.
Regards.
Mark