MODBUS using ENC28J60 tcp/ip component isn't working

Post Reply
Emadae3
Posts: 5
http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 12:02 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

MODBUS using ENC28J60 tcp/ip component isn't working

Post by Emadae3 »

I've been at it for few days now and it's not working for me

setting ENC28j60 component isn't working for me in the first place, setting IP address and mac isn't working as it can't be seen from router (checked with other programmer environment and the Ethernet board works fine) so I am definitely doing something wrong in flowcode.

when I connect "MODBUS TCP SLAVE" component directly to "ENC28j60 " I would get an error in compiling to HEX.
when I use "Network Comms" component , it tells me "ENC28j60" isn't yet supported, yet it compiles anyway

I have to work on "ENC28j60" since other modules aren't available to me.

can anyone please help me , any help is welcome no matter how small (yeah I'm desperate :oops: )
Attachments
MODBUStry16.fcfx
(16.46 KiB) Downloaded 17 times

BenR
Matrix Staff
Posts: 640
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:06 am
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: MODBUS using ENC28J60 tcp/ip component isn't working

Post by BenR »

Hello,

I think the network comms saying the 28J60 isn't supported yet is the clue to why it isn't working. I'll have a look and see if I can make it work. Its a bit tricky as the 28J60 is very low level and so is a bit of a square peg for a round hole but I'll have a go. We have tried previously and failed but I will investigate for you. Would something like an ESP8266 be an option as this already works?
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel

Emadae3
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 12:02 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: MODBUS using ENC28J60 tcp/ip component isn't working

Post by Emadae3 »

yeah it burns, anyway ...

any news ? :?:

ESP8266 doesn't seem to work for me as a medium of communication between Arduino Mega and Modbus Master, I am still a "noob" with communications between micro-controllers .

is it possible to send variables from arduino to modbus master on PC through esp8266 (nodemcu 1 board) in the following format ?

{ VARIABLE_NAME = VARIABLE_VALUE }

there will be multiple of these.

would you be so kind to provide me with a simple such flowcode for a single variable exchange so I can follow and do the rest ?

the modbus master I will be using will not be flowcode app developer.

BenR
Matrix Staff
Posts: 640
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:06 am
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: MODBUS using ENC28J60 tcp/ip component isn't working

Post by BenR »

Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel

Emadae3
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 12:02 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: MODBUS using ENC28J60 tcp/ip component isn't working

Post by Emadae3 »

Does this topic help at all?
sadly no , you used esp32 unlike what you wrote in description :
I use an Arduino Uno as my Modbus TCP Slave
you communicated directly to esp32 and used its I/O to show the output depending on the switch in API

what I want to do is to communicate to Arduino Mega (Modbus TCP Slave) through esp8266 (nodemcu) using SPI

esp8266 will be the spi slave while Arduino mega will be the spi master.

perhaps this project is impossible with flowcode :( :?:

to recap : Mega ---variables---> nodemcu ---recieved variables---> SCADA master (modbus tcp)

BenR
Matrix Staff
Posts: 640
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:06 am
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: MODBUS using ENC28J60 tcp/ip component isn't working

Post by BenR »

Hello,

Yes it certainly should be possible, follow the video and instead of using the ESP32 WIFI component use the ESP8266 Wifi component. Everything else should be the same.

If you get stuck then please post your project file and we will help you.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel

Post Reply