One Wire Bus Data Transmission

For general Flowcode discussion that does not belong in the other sections.
ChrisT66
http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl

One Wire Bus Data Transmission

Post by ChrisT66 »

Hello, I am new to the topic of bus communication. I want to use the One Wire Bus to transfer three data packets.
So I send with the TransmitByte command. How do I identify my individual packets at the other end?
The ReceiveByte command always reads 255 as result when nothing is transmitted. How do I filter out my three data packets?

Probably all stupid questions, sorry. But I don't know what to do...

Thanks a lot!

BenR
Matrix Staff

Re: One Wire Bus Data Transmission

Post by BenR »

Hello,

If you're not too bothered about following the one wire specification then you could simply send additional bytes as sync markers.

For example if you sent five bytes with the first and last bytes being known values then the receiver can listen for bytes until it receives the first known value, then receive another four bytes and if the last byte also matches the expected value then you know the three bytes in the middle are the data you've sent.

You could then improve this further by having the last byte be a checksum for example adding the values of each of the three bytes together. Then you know that the data you have received is indeed valid.

kersing
Valued Contributor

Post by kersing »

Hi Ben,

Does Flowcode actually provide a one-wire slave? Because that would be required for this use case I think.

Best regards,

Jac

BenR
Matrix Staff

Post by BenR »

Hi Jac,

Yes to do it properly to the one wire standard you would need a one-wire slave component which we don't currently have. I'm not sure that's worth doing as I think Dallas controls all the one wire slave devices to ensure everything has unique ID codes.

If the user is just interested in one way data via a single pin then a UART might be more appropriate?

ChrisT66

Post by ChrisT66 »

Thanks for the feedback!