Hi, I am using a display 320x240 (st7789) and I stumbled on this from adafruit.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5mzlP_6rZ7w
Apparently there is a way to block send SPI that is ~10 times faster.
Could this be implemented?
Thanks,
Chad
Faster spi on the rp2040
-
- Posts: 73
- http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl
- Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 1:15 pm
- Has thanked: 32 times
- Been thanked: 1 time
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1895
- Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:06 am
- Has thanked: 491 times
- Been thanked: 664 times
Re: Faster spi on the rp2040
Hi Chad,
The ST7789 display component doesn't currently use the SPI layer.
I'll see how easy it is to allow it to use SPI and if it's possible then I'll also add the pixel buffering properties and code I did for ESP to acheive a similar SPI speed optimisation.
The ST7789 display component doesn't currently use the SPI layer.
I'll see how easy it is to allow it to use SPI and if it's possible then I'll also add the pixel buffering properties and code I did for ESP to acheive a similar SPI speed optimisation.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
Re: Faster spi on the rp2040
That would be awesome! I am going to try to implement a little menu with an encoder knob and .bmp's and right now it is so slow it might not be usable.
I think I am going to be using the lcd bitmap drawer, and the display manager..
Thanks,
Chad
I think I am going to be using the lcd bitmap drawer, and the display manager..
Thanks,
Chad
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1895
- Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:06 am
- Has thanked: 491 times
- Been thanked: 664 times
Re: Faster spi on the rp2040
Hopefully all done for you now, just pushing to the update system.
The display component now lets you select between SPI or standard IO pins and when SPI is selected it lets you select to enable the Fast Pixel buffer to put SPI operations together in to a single burst. Hopefully should speed things up for you a lot.
The display component now lets you select between SPI or standard IO pins and when SPI is selected it lets you select to enable the Fast Pixel buffer to put SPI operations together in to a single burst. Hopefully should speed things up for you a lot.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1895
- Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:06 am
- Has thanked: 491 times
- Been thanked: 664 times
Re: Faster spi on the rp2040
Hmm it should be there now, but I've only made the change in v10, is this what you're using?.
Aha just seen the v9 logo on the top post, doh.
Aha just seen the v9 logo on the top post, doh.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1895
- Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:06 am
- Has thanked: 491 times
- Been thanked: 664 times
Re: Faster spi on the rp2040
Might be worth you trying v10 and see how you get on, you should be able to do it all for free and using your existing toolchains.
This shouldn't effect your v9 installer either so you can continue to use this for anything that would cost you money in v10.
Here's what v10 offers for free https://www.flowcode.co.uk/free/
This shouldn't effect your v9 installer either so you can continue to use this for anything that would cost you money in v10.
Here's what v10 offers for free https://www.flowcode.co.uk/free/
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
Re: Faster spi on the rp2040
I've never actually completed a project in flow code, yet I have bought pretty fully loaded 8 and 9. It started with wanting to make a dmx widget and I couldn't get that working correct on the st arm's that I had. I'll give it a try in 10 and maybe buy the rp chip pack.
Thanks,
Chad
Thanks,
Chad