MULTIUART

For general Flowcode discussion that does not belong in the other sections.
Post Reply
max.tisc
Posts: 113
http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 5:40 pm
Been thanked: 10 times

Flowcode v9 MULTIUART

Post by max.tisc »

Hi
I wanted to ask you and in particular Benj if the Multiuart board that I bought some time ago and that now I would find useful to use, is the same one that he designed ( http://www.instructables.com/id/SPI-to- ... MULTIUART/) because seeing the one that I received it mounts a different PIC, if confirmed that it does the same things I would like to know if it can be used with FC9 and FC10 with the MULTIUART component block, and finally if the description on the web page remains valid for setting and use, and is the firmware already loaded?
thanks
Attachments
IMG_20250207_173405785 (1).jpg
IMG_20250207_173405785 (1).jpg (75.41 KiB) Viewed 3012 times
Screenshot 2025-02-07 173620.png
Screenshot 2025-02-07 173620.png (383.42 KiB) Viewed 3012 times

BenR
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1924
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:06 am
Has thanked: 501 times
Been thanked: 684 times

Re: MULTIUART

Post by BenR »

Hello,

Many thanks for posting and yes I can confirm there are two versions of the board, one with a square chip (v1) which was awful for me to solder and a newer rectangular chip (v2) which is significantly easier. Both are functionally identical and should both work with the Flowcode component. Firmware comes pre-loaded on the device.

The firmware and other details for the boards are available here if required.
https://github.com/RowlandTechnology/MULTIUART

max.tisc
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 5:40 pm
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: MULTIUART

Post by max.tisc »

hi benj
I have a problem with the card I can't change the baud rate I would like to change it to 9600 but stay fixed at 1200, should the block be called after initialization or in the loop?
thank you
Attachments
STM32F411_MULTIUART_FC9.fcfx
(10.66 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

BenR
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1924
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:06 am
Has thanked: 501 times
Been thanked: 684 times

Re: MULTIUART

Post by BenR »

Hello,

That's odd, no there's no need to put the SetBaud call inside the loop. You should just have to call it once and then the module should remember the setting, even efter a power cycle.

If it's been called repeatedly inside a tight loop then there's potential for the flash block to become worn out. These are usually good for 100,000 cycles but in your code you were calling SetBaud every 500ms and so the wear would start to occur after around 13 hours of operation.

I might have to change the firmware slightly so the flash write is only done if the SetBaud is asking for a baud rate that is different to the current rate.

max.tisc
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 5:40 pm
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: MULTIUART

Post by max.tisc »

yes Ben, in fact as you can see from the file I attached there is a jump to avoid the continuous setting of the port, what I was asking you is if the block is to be called immediately after the initialization and before the main, but I have already tried it and the baud change does not work

Post Reply