ESP FCD helper?

Any bugs you encounter with Flowcode should be discussed here.
jgu1
Posts: 774
http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 8:25 pm
Location: Denmark
Has thanked: 669 times
Been thanked: 173 times

Flowcode v10 ESP FCD helper?

Post by jgu1 »

Hi all!

I am testing an ESP32 S3 Mini with an ILI9341 display and made a small testprogram, but when I start simulation a text comming up op the display "FCD Helper" and it is not dissapearing.

How can I get rid of it, please? I've never seen it before and it's distracting when you're doing other things on the display :roll:

Hope someone have a tip.

Thank´s in advance.

Br Jorgen
Attachments
Display.fcfx
(14.05 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

chipfryer27
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 10:57 am
Has thanked: 353 times
Been thanked: 549 times

Re: ESP FCD helper?

Post by chipfryer27 »

Hi

Looks like a bug to me.

Stepping through your chart icon at a time it appears with "clear display". If you disable this icon it works. I know that doesn't help but at least we know what step is causing it.

Regards

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1913
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 619 times
Been thanked: 644 times

Flowcode v10 Re: ESP FCD helper?

Post by medelec35 »

Hi Jorgen.
Many thanks for bringing this to our attention.
I have moved the topic to the bugs section.
I could of taken you though steps on how to remove the unwanted text, but instead I just did a quick fix with the component.
On Monday, I'm going to check to see if any of the other gLCD's are affected.

Browse to this location using file explorer , it's hidden by default so just paste the link into your address bar.

Code: Select all

%ProgramData%\MatrixTSL\FlowcodeV10\Components
Place the attached component.
If Flowcode is already open, then you will need to reload your project for the new component to work
If you run any component updates, then the component you added will be overwritten, so it will stop working again (unless the component update has been pushed).

After adding component and reloading, can you let me know if this resolves your issue.
Attachments
gLCD_ILI9341_SPI.fcpx
(19.55 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Martin

jgu1
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 8:25 pm
Location: Denmark
Has thanked: 669 times
Been thanked: 173 times

Flowcode v10 Re: ESP FCD helper?

Post by jgu1 »

Hi Martin!

It´s gone, all perfect again when I test with simulation, later I perform a test on the Esp32 S3. Thank you, and fix even on the weekends also :D

Br Jorgen

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1913
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 619 times
Been thanked: 644 times

Re: ESP FCD helper?

Post by medelec35 »

Hi Jorgen.
You're welcome.
I was a bit bored so I decided to see what is occurring on the forums, and help out if I can.
This evening I decided to dig deeper since if your gLCD is affected then other gLCD's could be affected which would be a pain, so I want to avoid that.
Luckily I can change a component which all SPI gLCD's are dynamically linked to.
To test the effectiveness can you please run your project, do a component library update, reload your project so the issue of FCD helper is back.
Then can you replace the attached component, following the instructions from my previous post, including reloading your project again.
Hopefully that will be the last of the SPI gLCD issues regarding FCD Helper.
Attachments
cal_spi.fcpx
(23.59 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Martin

jgu1
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 8:25 pm
Location: Denmark
Has thanked: 669 times
Been thanked: 173 times

Re: ESP FCD helper?

Post by jgu1 »

ok Martin, good idea when boring ;)

Of course I will. I update and get the old component again, restarted my testproject, get the "FCD helper" again, place the new Cal in the lib. restart FC and load the program again, no " FCD helper" any more, again bingo you do a great job on a boring Sunday, work perfect in simulation, push it to the update if it not influence on other display. :)

I want to test in real world, You know Ben made a high speed mode for the ESP32 Dev1 module viewtopic.php?t=1851 I use the ESP32 s3 mini zero with the Ili9341 SPI, are there any "high speed pin" you can recommend?

Br Jorgen

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1913
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 619 times
Been thanked: 644 times

Re: ESP FCD helper?

Post by medelec35 »

Thanks for your help in testing, its appreciated.
I will see if I can get the component pushed ASAP.
Martin

jgu1
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 8:25 pm
Location: Denmark
Has thanked: 669 times
Been thanked: 173 times

Flowcode v10 Re: ESP FCD helper?

Post by jgu1 »

You are welcome.

But : :lol:

I want to test in real world, You know Ben made a high speed mode for the ESP32 Dev1 module viewtopic.php?t=1851 I use the ESP32 s3 mini zero with the Ili9341 SPI, are there any "high speed pin" you can recommend?

I have it up running, but seemed no change which pin I use for Mosi and Clock.

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1913
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 619 times
Been thanked: 644 times

Re: ESP FCD helper?

Post by medelec35 »

If connected to any other pins than suggested, then maximum speed is 32MHz.
If you set it at a higher speed, the display won't work.
The only way within ESP32 to allow setting higher than 32 MHz is to set as per bens suggestion as no other pins will work.
Ben did state he needs to do more testing.
He will probably use a scope as I doubt if a USB logic analyser will capture at 10's of MHz speed.

With your display connected to the suggested pins, and setting above 32MHz, you found there looked like no speed increase?
Martin

jgu1
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 8:25 pm
Location: Denmark
Has thanked: 669 times
Been thanked: 173 times

Re: ESP FCD helper?

Post by jgu1 »

Ok Martin
But my thought was that if with Ben's recommendations it could run really fast using dedicated pin connections Highspeed in ESP32 dev1 it could maybe be there too it is on ESP32 S3 mini.
You are right the speed does not get faster from 32 mHz to 80 mHz but still works at maxspeed.
The display is fast..

Everything ok Martin, thanks. :D

Br Jorgen

Post Reply