string array problem
-
- Posts: 69
- http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:58 am
- Has thanked: 27 times
- Been thanked: 8 times
string array problem
Any suggestions as to why the attached flowcode appears to add the array index to the end of the string to be printed apart from the last. i have tried it with a ssd1306 display with the same result. this is simulation only, I haven't tried actual hardware yet
- Attachments
-
- ssd1322_new_rig_16f18877.fcfx
- (15.62 KiB) Downloaded 130 times
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1462
- Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2020 9:37 pm
- Has thanked: 136 times
- Been thanked: 713 times
Re: string array problem
The strings are 24 characters - if you allow space for a \0 end of string marker then all is well (set string length to 25 in this case).
It looks like Print is looking for a \0 character as end of string rather than using the length passed (FC passes string and str_length to a function)
Martin
It looks like Print is looking for a \0 character as end of string rather than using the length passed (FC passes string and str_length to a function)
Martin
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1926
- Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:06 am
- Has thanked: 503 times
- Been thanked: 686 times
Re: string array problem
Hello,
It looks like it's probably a bug on our end to do with multidimensional strings without null bytes. The Length$ function is maybe being passed the entire size of the array rather than the correct array chunk size.
We will look into solving it in the application but for now the best practise would be to use Martins suggestion and make room for the null bytes to be automatically added for you. In general it is good coding practise to allow for an extra byte in your string variable to make room for the null.
It looks like it's probably a bug on our end to do with multidimensional strings without null bytes. The Length$ function is maybe being passed the entire size of the array rather than the correct array chunk size.
We will look into solving it in the application but for now the best practise would be to use Martins suggestion and make room for the null bytes to be automatically added for you. In general it is good coding practise to allow for an extra byte in your string variable to make room for the null.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel