Hi There.
I try to built a ESP32 + Potentiometer but fail.
I found it can't be compile once I add Potentiometer even only one component on board.
(Also found the conversion speed null item inside properties setting.)
Any Idea? Did I miss something?
ESP32 + Potentiometer (fail to be compile)
-
- Posts: 7
- http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl
- Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 7:34 am
ESP32 + Potentiometer (fail to be compile)
- Attachments
-
- LCD+POT.fcfx
- pot only fcfx
- (7.01 KiB) Downloaded 478 times
-
- LCD+POT.msg.txt
- fail message
- (19.76 KiB) Downloaded 417 times
-
- flowcode9 screen
- 螢幕截圖 2022-11-09 10.37.42.png (191.41 KiB) Viewed 7367 times
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 1528
- Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 10:57 am
- Has thanked: 353 times
- Been thanked: 549 times
Re: ESP32 + Potentiometer (fail to be compile)
Hi
I compiled to Hex successfully (no chip to hand to allow compile to target).
Are the Toolchains correctly installed and up to date etc? Can you compile other projects?
Sorry to brief,just heading out.
Regards
I compiled to Hex successfully (no chip to hand to allow compile to target).
Are the Toolchains correctly installed and up to date etc? Can you compile other projects?
Sorry to brief,just heading out.
Regards
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1913
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
- Has thanked: 619 times
- Been thanked: 644 times
Re: ESP32 + Potentiometer (fail to be compile)
Hello.
Your project file also compiled for me OK.
Make sure your components database is up to date.
Select Help, Library Updates... Change the Files in-use to full database.
If any components have been updated, you will need to select Reload for the effects to take place.
The usual cause for the issue you are seeing is by using a later toolchain version than specified in this document.
You have to very carefully follow it by the letter.
4.1.2 (release version) is the version I used.
I would recommend uninstalling everything relating to ESP32 first.
That includes python & git.
I always used the python 3.7 version since I had no issues with that.
For the paths, I used the paths that are in the install guide.
i.e C:\esp-idf & C:\esp-idf-tools
I remember having issues if left as the default users .expressif
Your project file also compiled for me OK.
Make sure your components database is up to date.
Select Help, Library Updates... Change the Files in-use to full database.
If any components have been updated, you will need to select Reload for the effects to take place.
The usual cause for the issue you are seeing is by using a later toolchain version than specified in this document.
You have to very carefully follow it by the letter.
4.1.2 (release version) is the version I used.
I would recommend uninstalling everything relating to ESP32 first.
That includes python & git.
I always used the python 3.7 version since I had no issues with that.
For the paths, I used the paths that are in the install guide.
i.e C:\esp-idf & C:\esp-idf-tools
I remember having issues if left as the default users .expressif
Martin
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 7:34 am
Re: ESP32 + Potentiometer (fail to be compile)
Thanks your reply, Sir.
components database is up to date.-- CHECK.
I guess my ESP32 toolchain install should be ok due to other ESP32 works fine, just can't use any ADC components.
I found I can't set the timing (speed). Is that a issue?
components database is up to date.-- CHECK.
I guess my ESP32 toolchain install should be ok due to other ESP32 works fine, just can't use any ADC components.
I found I can't set the timing (speed). Is that a issue?
- Attachments
-
- 螢幕截圖 2022-11-21 16.19.07.png (174.88 KiB) Viewed 7315 times
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 447
- Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 1:00 pm
- Has thanked: 81 times
- Been thanked: 243 times
Re: ESP32 + Potentiometer (fail to be compile)
Hi,
As Martin said, it's an ESP toolchain version issue. If you use a different version some things will work, others not (such as this ADC issue)
Google adc_gpio_init if you want to try an alternative fix at your own risk
As Martin said, it's an ESP toolchain version issue. If you use a different version some things will work, others not (such as this ADC issue)
Google adc_gpio_init if you want to try an alternative fix at your own risk

-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 7:34 am
Re: ESP32 + Potentiometer (fail to be compile)
I try many time with many different version of ESP toolchain. And totally damage the compile function for ESP32 in my Flowcode....It can't be compile
ESP32 any more... sad.
There are no 4.1.2 (release version) from "esp-idf-tools-setup-2.3.exe" any more. And I can't skip python option even I install 3.7 already ( it install 3.8 automatically )
What should I choose, any suggestion?
ESP32 any more... sad.
There are no 4.1.2 (release version) from "esp-idf-tools-setup-2.3.exe" any more. And I can't skip python option even I install 3.7 already ( it install 3.8 automatically )
What should I choose, any suggestion?
- Attachments
-
- Screenshot 2022-11-21 205713.jpg (36.2 KiB) Viewed 7305 times
-
- Screenshot 2022-11-21 210031.jpg (31.29 KiB) Viewed 7305 times
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1924
- Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:06 am
- Has thanked: 501 times
- Been thanked: 684 times
Re: ESP32 + Potentiometer (fail to be compile)
Hello,
If you install the toolchain from here then hopefully you get the 4.1 IDF option.
https://www.flowcode.co.uk/download/fil ... up-2.3.exe
If not then let us know and we can investigate further and maybe try and move to a newer version of the IDF.
If you install the toolchain from here then hopefully you get the 4.1 IDF option.
https://www.flowcode.co.uk/download/fil ... up-2.3.exe
If not then let us know and we can investigate further and maybe try and move to a newer version of the IDF.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 7:34 am
Re: ESP32 + Potentiometer (fail to be compile)
Yes, Ben.
I am install the toolchain from here : "https://www.flowcode.co.uk/download/fil ... up-2.3.exe" but no 4.1.
There are "4.1.3 (release version)" <--- Do you mean this one?
Or "release/4.1 (release branch)" <--- Or this one?
I am install the toolchain from here : "https://www.flowcode.co.uk/download/fil ... up-2.3.exe" but no 4.1.
There are "4.1.3 (release version)" <--- Do you mean this one?
Or "release/4.1 (release branch)" <--- Or this one?
- Attachments
-
- Screenshot 2022-11-21 205713.jpg (37.68 KiB) Viewed 7300 times
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1924
- Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:06 am
- Has thanked: 501 times
- Been thanked: 684 times
Re: ESP32 + Potentiometer (fail to be compile)
Hopefully either should be ok. We have thoroughly tested the 4.1 version.
Just having a look to see how the adc calls have changed and see if we can rework the code so it works with both.
Edit, I've made some changes to the code and pushed the latest version and hopefully this will allow the later version to also compile. Please note I've tested 4.1 still compiles ok but not tested the newer version just yet.
Just having a look to see how the adc calls have changed and see if we can rework the code so it works with both.
Edit, I've made some changes to the code and pushed the latest version and hopefully this will allow the later version to also compile. Please note I've tested 4.1 still compiles ok but not tested the newer version just yet.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Online Code Viewer (Beta) - Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - My YouTube Channel
-
- Posts: 94
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2020 6:12 pm
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 9 times
Re: ESP32 + Potentiometer (fail to be compile)
Hi Flowcode team,
I still having problems getting esp wifi kit 32 to compile and was told to install the toolchains with 4.1 of IDF esp but do not have the option of 4.1 or 4.1.3 this is all of the option given to me.
Thanks,
Wayne m
I still having problems getting esp wifi kit 32 to compile and was told to install the toolchains with 4.1 of IDF esp but do not have the option of 4.1 or 4.1.3 this is all of the option given to me.
Thanks,
Wayne m
- Attachments
-
- 2023_05_12_14_48_44_Greenshot.jpg (88.74 KiB) Viewed 6894 times